December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Roadkill

by cuts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A GTA/Carmageddon type of game. My first LD and the first time I work with Game Maker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#156Fun3.29
#368Audio2.42
#371Theme3.20
#381Overall2.95
#397Humor2.39
#439Graphics2.76
#564Mood2.40
#659Innovation2.22

Comments

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39am

Game crashed when I quit.

How'd you do the car physics?

cuts says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46am

I wrote my own bubblegum car physics on top of Game Maker's physics engine. Practically it interpolates between the normal, car on ice model, and a perfect one, where the car is always heading where it's pointing, based on speed.

The crash is caused by a bug in Game Maker's sound engine. Unfortunately I can't do anything about it.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

It's some mindless fun, can't complain there. I think the time attack style is beneficial in the style of game you have, and the physics when you hit dudes is appealing.
One complaint I will raise is you get stuck on walls really easily. Not like, stuck so you can't move, but once you hit a wall it's hard to turn away from it cause every time you touch it again you get turned back towards it.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Ah man, how did I forget to say, you can spin donuts. I should add an extra star just for that.
NOTE: Game didn't crash on exit for me.

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58pm

I liked this, there's nothing more fun than carelessly killing civilians!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:26am

Nice game, and works in wine under linux :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36am

Get off the road people. This is my 5th lap! You should've learned by now. Cool audio effect on the car engine.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Brainless Fun! (To deliberately drive into people require some technique though lol)

arhpositive says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Nice implementation of car physics. :) Fun to play while it lasts.

kannas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

i lite the car sound a lot. overall it' s a cool game

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:08pm

oh my god that was fun

I didn't like driving directly into pedestrians nearly as much as I liked drifting into them and swatting them like my car was a big ol' baseball bat. I wish there was some kind of "handbrake" button that would exaggerate your car's drifting so you could swerve in wide arcs and slam pedestrians around better.

For what it is though it's a lot of fun.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Good car physics

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Good fun! I like the car engine synthesis and the drifting characteristics. I managed to get a goat too! Proud.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Awesome! Its a mash up of carmageddon and micro machines :3, so many memories :D***

angela says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:42am

Dude, sick! ;) But props for the car handling, the sounds, the tire tracks were a *great* touch, and also the little people flying when you hit them. Also, I accidentally trapped a guy between the car and wall and he just rained out carnage for like 30 seconds - made me laugh. Great game - would never have guessed you pulled it off in a single weekend.

Toadpud says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:45am

Fun game.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:47am

Boy the controls are difficult in this one...

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:33am

@cuts: Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:33am

It's a bit difficult to handle the car, but overall pretty good game.

cuts says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:41am

I wanted to make a web version but the HTML5 addon for Game Maker is very poor and had a lot of problems. I'll see if I can make a Mac version but no promises.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:20am

I love the skid marks, but I wish I could drift a little more. This makes me want to make my own clone just to play with writing the car physics! Great work.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:29am

I guess this will tide me over while I wait for the Carmageddon reboot.

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:22pm

I ran over a goat?
Nice driving mechanics though i felt i didnt have much control in narrower turns. Good job,

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Cool game, the graphics are good and it has some nice touches like the skid marks and flying corpses. Maybe if the acceleration and handling were a bit more responsive it would make the driving more fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]