Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Evil Overlord - Worse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

POSTCOMPO V1 RELEASED
Postmortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/01/06/post-compo-release-and-post-mortem/

---

You are the Evil Overlord, trying to complete your evil plans to activate the doomsday device. To do that, you just need to secure an Object of Great Importance and perform a Ritual of Great Importance.

But wait! A Hero is here to stop you! Luckily you have a sizeable supply of minions, along with two trusty associates, Igor and Dmitri. Not to forget your cute (but deadly) pet goat!

You control your troops by shouting them orders (keyboard keys 1,2,3). You want to hinder the Hero just the right amount - too little and he disrupts your plans, too much and you accidentally kill him, spoiling all the fun of having him witness your great victory!

View Worse's journal. | View all entries by Worse

Ratings

Coolness72%
#52Innovation3.81
#69Theme3.92
#135Humor3.24
#231Mood3.04
#282Overall3.14
#310Fun2.94
#573Audio1.42
#661Graphics2.11

Comments

Kenaron1703 says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Really good! I liked it a lot!

Cell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

starting the desc with "No, that's not placeholder art..." isn't a good idea, don't be afraid of making a totally new style up :)

nihilocrat says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Pretty creative design and controls; kind of a dialogue-controlled RTS.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07pm

That is kind of intresting however tbh i didnt really feel like i was making a difference and like whatever happens would happen. However i thought it was quite cool to watch it play out and quite cool. I didnt really like the artwork.

Jiyko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

I really like the art!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Haha, that was a cool take on the theme. Felt kind of good to be in control of a big mass of grunts - it was fun to watch the hero battle them all, and to interact in the fight in a simple but effective way. :)
Probably should mention that I'm playing on a laptop, and the resolution of the game was too big for my screen. A better use of space in game would fix this problem. :)

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

I'm not really sure what I just did to win. So, interesting idea, with the giving orders... bit sceptical about the execution. On the other hand, go go deadly goat! Hm.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I really liked this game. It was a text adventure in style and the choices made me keep playing over and over. Whilst there were no explanations about the timers you pick it up really quickly when playing. I also liked that you had to only almost kill him and control your minions to run away at the right time.

Great stuff!

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Very interesting concept. I didn't always feel like my orders were properly reflected by the minions actions but the dialog system is brilliant. You should polish it more, not the graphics, just the system. And also add sound.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:43pm

The starting idea is great. The interface really make you feel like you are the villain. However despite the colored bars it seems that your action dont really alter the fight. I had 3 games with very differents choices ( Even tried to loose on third ) And I was always winning by the start of the third round.
Also, I sometime had feeling that another sentence that the one I choose was applied instead.
Great conversations I like the style :)

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Yes! The evil has won! The game trully is about a villain, the concept is interesting and you can really feel the immerse. Maybe there is no sounds and graphics are rather symbolic the idea is fantastic. Well done :)

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05pm

I really like the idea of a semi-passive control over what is happening. Unfortunately the feedback was really hard to read (not the font, I mean the result of your actions). So after several trials I gave up. Also because the nice to read texts became repetitive.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09pm

i really like the idea...its interesting game... good luck!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11pm

I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Commanding a whole army of minions at once with only verbal abuse was quite interesting to say the least. I both do and don't like the simplistic graphics, they look almost like your watching some sort of primitive satellite tracking from afar, which sorta helps the whole all-seeing evil mastermind vibe. The voice commands are pretty humorous, and I only wish you did some voice acting. All in all, it was really fun, and I hope you continue it.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34am

Outstanding humor, and it's just as much fun to watch as it is to play :P

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:04pm

I love that the villan just stands back and yells at his minions, and even if they all die he just moves on.

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:32pm

hehehe just kept killing him without realising funny was to let him see how I won! :D Really nice idea and funny dialogues, I felt sorry for Dimitri and Igor though, they served me well and deserved to live... :(

rinaka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Very fun game, lots of stuff to like: it's indirect control scheme, the mood, the humor. The stuff that the goons speak is great too.

I understand that this is due to the compo time limit but I really wish there was sound -- a jumble of action movie sound clips (punches, shots, groans...) would be awesome IMO.

Worse says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I'll try to play, rate and maybe comment your games in return when I have time (many I already have).

I'm currently making a postcompo version, in which I try to improve things you commented on, and implement some new ideas.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:19pm

That was pretty fun. It shows alot about a villain's job. A villain is basically just a manager who yells at people.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:24pm

Interesting...

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:16pm

A 5 for humor and innovation. Great job for making this idea into an actual game!
Fun to do as well. There are some surprises as well.
Just add some sounds and I'm a happy man.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:52pm

The game is somehow strange... keep working on it and add sound effects and background music and improve the graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]