December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Piracy: To Yarr and Beyond!

by firestorm713 - Jam Entry

A new resource has been discovered on the border of the known galaxy, starting a massive rush by super corporations as well as lone wolf prospectors to discover, claim, and gather it as fast as possible. What it is doesn't matter to you. You are a pirate, and what you do care about is that it is valuable. In their haste, they have overextended the military that safeguards them, leaving an opportunity too good to miss. Destroy enemy military ships and tow defenseless civilian ships back to your base to claim their precious cargo(Sadly not implemented).

Credits:
Firestorm713 - programming and general design
TheGrandMugwump - Art
SonofGuns - Sound and Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#112Audio(Jam)3.15
#295Theme(Jam)2.29
#299Humor(Jam)1.42
#304Graphics(Jam)2.14
#306Mood(Jam)1.91
#309Fun(Jam)1.90
#316Innovation(Jam)1.86
#320Overall(Jam)2.05
#867Coolness39%

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Yay for pirates!

BTW - performance with several ships targeting you drops quite noticeably.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Nice idea!

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Like being a pirate, dislike the fact that the enemy ships are far away at beginning and there is no visual feedback when you hit them.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:16pm

I haven't noticed a single civilian ship, so the tractor beam seems pretty useless. It may lacks some visual indications to go back to your base or find enemies. Anyway, I loved the funky touch of the music :)

AyCe says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Could become a nice game! It was good the controls were written on top of the page, always visible, and the music was very cood indeed. But the game quickly got very laggy, I was hit without knowing why, when escaping there was a neverending row of ships I has to fly by, and it seems you try to play the "your ship got destroyed" animaton every time your hp is under 0 or something like that, which results in infinite destroying sounds and explosions, because the enemies keep hitting you.

Griz says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:03pm

Good guys in your game sure enjoyed desintegrating me into pieces, as multiple laser rays from their spaceships have crossed each other on the way to my destroyed vessel, to create a symphony of explosions!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Great soundtrack! Had fun, got past 2000 points before I was finished. :-) Might be nice to have additional enemy types? Possible twist - tractor beam and laser are mutually exclusive? You can go shoot at a cop type ship but you have to temporarily drop your cargo?

schnerble says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Hmmm - it took ages for me to find anything other than what was presumably my base... I'd almost given up. Eventually found what appeared to be a never-ending line of enemy ships... I think there's a lot of potential here, but the action is a bit too slow, and needs some tuning - e.g., having the enemy ships do a bit more, and making the lasers do more damage. Audio is cool, though, and the starfield looks nice; ships are a little indistinct.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:15pm

I was either floating through and endless void or being attacked by dozens of little ships, but did not see (or recognise) a base or civilian ships. I was more amused by syncing the laser/tractor beam sounds with the music than the game itself, I'm afraid.

brantkings says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Nice idea, but I agree with other people. This game would gain so much from feedback of what you are doing, like the enemy shops flashing red when get hit or something. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]