December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Plague

by Joozey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move around.
Claim areas by holding space. You have to be near the center of a generated forest/village/sand-patch or castle to claim it.
Kill the good guys to convert them to minions.
Goal: flood the lands with stinking miasma and rotten bodies!
Make an army of minions too!
Evade the bears!

Sadly, no build-in winning conditions. Reach the goal above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#174Theme3.64
#205Innovation3.21
#358Audio2.44
#374Mood2.76
#412Graphics2.82
#453Overall2.82
#478Fun2.61
#485Humor2.18

Comments

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:52am

It's so tiny, hard to locate the player. Otherwise, I like it.

Cell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

cool, you might want to use more time to make the colors blend more nicely together.

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

I wish there was some kind of audio/visual feedback for claiming territory. Also it was unclear to me why I could claim territory in some places but not others. My minion also seemed to do nothing. I like the sound design and graphics though.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I think it would be a lot more fun if you could see more easily the results of your actions. Regeneration is too slow, and the minions die very easily, so you spend a lot of time just waiting while you regenerate.

It had a nice graphics style, but unfortunately it was too small for me to appreciate everything else.

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

I like your art style, the idea is interesting, but the game feels pointless as there is no win condition.

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Cool idea, but I didn't get how to get minions, I had one but he died apparently... :(

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Really cool idea and feels really evil! I managed to flood the whole map but couldn't figure out if there was a way to win...

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

couldn't restart the game after i died: the map reset, but i was still dead. and do i have to be near lots of living things in order to create decay?

love the idea and love how it looks. just needs a bit more work, and a readme file also.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:50pm

I didn't get how to get minions either. Or when exactly I can claim areas and when I can't. Otherwise: very cool.

Joozey says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Thanks for the feedback so far! I extended the description on top of this page with some gameplay directions. Planning to release another version of this game after the competition with all your feedback considered. Thanks again for playing!

Joozey

sPe says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Couple of nice and lovely details in here. Some more active opponents and goals would be interesting.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Hey, it's a nice game overall. My entry has some interesting similarities to your entry considering some aspects of the gameplay. You should check it out. :) Solid work, keep it up!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Very hard to see on my computer, but fun game.

Sestren says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:49am

The particle effects were nice. It's interesting to see another game centered around plagues.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Very interesting idea. My feedback for you:

- The graphics are far to small.
- It would be better, if you mark the places which can be conquered.
- At my first start, I instantly died because of some enemies around my spawn (is there a retry-button?)
- How can I kill enemies and get minions? I conquered places and they die if they walk on the plaque, but there are no minions. Even if I conquer their buildings.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]