Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

City Rat - nkling - 48 Hour Compo Entry

City Rat.
Play a mutated city rat with an appetite for human flesh! Chomp down on civilians while steering clear of officer's of Human Law!
Controls:Arrow Keys
Made with FlashPunk

View nkling's journal. | View all entries by nkling

Ratings

#22Graphics4.29
#66Mood3.52
#87Fun3.48
#125Audio3.18
#137Humor3.23
#153Overall3.40
#156Theme3.68
#405Innovation2.76
#711Coolness47%

Comments

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

I like your visual style. The muddy banjo music adds to the charm.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40am

I love the stealth mechanic, and the graphics fit the game really well!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Loving the art style - reminds me of childrens novel illustrations. Gameplay is good fun, if a little too speedy for my tastes.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56pm

But those policemen looks so tasty!

Nice graphics and music. Animations are very nice as well.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Cute art style. Pretty unique! I found the game very funny. The way the people reacted is hilarious and gives them character :)

Rubsrub says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:25am

Visual style is very good. I was eat all people (not policeman) and nothing. There is have end?

barret907k says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Nice game. No ending I could tell.

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Really nice and "thrilling" gameplay. More influence on the behavior of the AI could be interesting.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:44pm

Police officer are maybe a bit too fast for me, and I didn't found winning conditions, but the game is fun and I'm really fond of this game's graphics.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Very unique and good visuals, but the controls of the rat isn't that good. Sometimes hard to get into a side road.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Awesome eating animation! Great visual style as well.

tompudding says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I loved the music and the art. The title screen will haunt my nightmares!

Norgg says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice artwork on here, loved the scared people especially.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Loved the style

zerebruin says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Wow! Simple gameplay, great mood via audio & graphics and good feeling? Niiiice!

dj_pale says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice gfx and humor :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]