December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Princessss

by Aerlynn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to kidnap the princess and bring her to your lair which is on a long boring road which we'll skip so we'll actually start at the castle gates. Slay all who stand in your way and go get them!

Instructions:
Mouse click and hold to move around / pick stuff up / attack.
If you have a shield, shift to use it. While blocking you can't attack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#128Graphics3.64
#174Fun3.25
#186Overall3.32
#196Mood3.12
#202Theme3.57
#332Innovation2.93
#368Humor2.52
#411Audio2.27

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30am

Was kinda hard getting the shield but i liked it once i had it XD

Klakwa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33am

It's kinda nicely done, but the fight system needs more work. Since now either if you have the shield or not makes no difference since the time delay when opponent attack with your shield up or down is the same (since he isn't attacking if you're holding the shield up, but you need to block it when he swings, so it gives you one swing back if you're precise enough to block each of his shots).

Also don't introduce the new elements (like the sword) while enemies are attacking you before you know how to pick the sword up or even where it is.

Other than that it's pretty cool ! Congrats !

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

I finished this game without hitting any one or getting hit :P Also found it a bit strange the princess would just follow me, does not really feel like kidnapping
But graphics were nice

strong99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:37am

A very nice game! :) Played it with fun. I have no idea how I was supposed to kidnap the princess, I though clicking, but that killed her :( The graphics have a nice style

ratking says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38am

Nice entry!
But make the enemies easier, as it is pretty hard to beat the game when they're as powerful as you. Controls are a little bit awkward, as you have to click on something while the character walks.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43pm

I took great pleasure killing civilians. It'd be like link going on a rampage!

Aerlynn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Thanks for all the comments :)
The trick with the combat is indeed quite precise timing. It is possible to kill soldiers without them hitting you, but it is hard. Probably too hard, but well there's the 48-hour limit for you :D

Also, 'kidnapping' in the sense of actually kidnapping her was not going to be possible in 48 hours, so you just have to sort of run past her.

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16pm

The princess didn't want to follow me so I killed her :>
The fights were a bit weird since you have to slash then immediatly block before their animation is done.
Anyway, nice game, with good graphics.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Really enjoyed the graphic style. It was great.

Overall a really great entry.

The only things that bothered me were that the Princess follows you a bit slowly, and she doesn't just stay with the guards if you run past them all. Feels more like she's just wandering after you than a kidnap.

Also, if you fiddled with the font material and the size on the 3D Text object at the beginning, you could make it look less low resolution. There's shaders that'll stop it from being visible through walls too.

But overall, great entry. The physics were really nice, it was nice and responsive. Really enjoyed it.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Loved the weapon exchange feature, nice battle system, but the shield show be more usefull. Very well done for a 48H entry.

Retroid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Fun game but it was easy to sneak past all the guards!

The fighting was fun though but the shield needs a bit of work!

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Very nice!

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Good graphics. Fighting the guards is pretty difficult.

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Had a good moment playing it! Really cool.

I just felt that the battle is a little too predictable, as the timing is static and does not depends on the player, and using the shield blocks the whole battle, so there is no need for hability or decisions the player has to make. So if the battle was not "a lot of fun", the sneaking through the guards and trying to get some potion after taking some damage was really nice. And also the game is quite solid and well done. Good job!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Nice graphics, but I was able to complete the game just by keeping shift pressed with my shield and being immortal :(

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:14pm

The combat is a bit hard especially control-wise so I simply ran from everyone.

Didn't feel like kidnapping when the princess followed me, more like I was her lover that her father disapproves of :P

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:32am

Simple but fun! Also, I like the graphics style! Attacking the guards seems a little pointless though, since you can just walk by them out of their agro range.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]