December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Steve vs the Internet

by TopHattedCoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Steve doesn't like cats - evidently. One day he goes on the Internet, which pushes him a little too far so he goes on a murderous rampage, vowing to run over all the cats he can until his car explodes. Use the arrow keys or WASD keys to control the cars' speed. Sorry about the 'moony' physics, I had it set to fixed frame rate whilst I was developing and changed it to a dynamic frame rate before release.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1081Coolness20%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:38am

Could be more fun with reworked controls (allow going back, less moon-like jumps, slower acceleration, maximum speed).

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03pm

I made sure to disallow going backwards because the game objects despawn as soon as they are to the left of the camera, so there wouldn't be any scenery there. :P. There is a maximum speed, but it is 50 pixels per second, so it isn't very effective. Thanks for the feedback though.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Pretty good! Though I think it's a bit too easy where you can currently stop entirely - maybe either have a minimum speed, or don't allow changing speed *while* jumping. Also agree with vrld on the floaty jumps.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Hmm... it runs, and I get the car that can drive, but how far am I supposed to need to drive before I see something? I just see the road and my car and nothing else for as far as I've driven.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:47am

So, the idea is that he stops as soon as he hits something when he isn't going fast enough, is that correct? It seems to always bring me back to the title when this happens, so I'll assume so.

Good:
-Steve's evident backstory is quite awesome.
-The game runs pretty smoothly.
Bad: It's pretty hard to tell what's going on or what you have to do.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Not much to playing the game. Needs more game play. Perhaps you should add multiple lanes on the road and give player lane-shifting controls instead of jumping.

Houly says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:08pm

This car can jump!
Didn't quite understand why the game was over some times. It's based on the speed in a crash?

Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:35pm

The car gets darker the more it gets damaged and eventually it explodes very not-realistic-at-all-ly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]