December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cursed

by Wet Heads - Jam Entry

There was no artist, so... That still not ready. You'll see rectangels - it is angels, actually.

-------------------- HELP -------------------

I see, it's hard to understand how to play it for the first time. I'm sorry about it.

BUT It's pretty simple, actually. Let me explain...

These little circles - minions. They are the main idea of the game. They are the main (and only) tool of player. They are minions.

RED minions are cause damage. How to manage them?
HOLD RMB and they would follow to the cursor (actually to the character, too, but... no matter).

WHITE minions are cause damage too, but only to the character. They are Light's weapon... When you kill their owners, they become dark minions and you could take it to your swarm.

DARK minions are unuseful. But they are nicely look.
Maybe one day they will become the main goal of game (which will evolve, I hope). You are the villian, yeah? So let's curse all light minions!

YELLOW minions is for big jumps and, if you have enough, for air-walking.
CLICK LMB to instruct one of free to stay on the choosen place.
PRESS THE SPACE to return all of them to the swarm.

Also, pick boxes! It gives more minions.

Also, you can jump over volcano with yellow minions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#50Innovation(Jam)3.48
#183Audio(Jam)2.66
#189Fun(Jam)2.70
#206Mood(Jam)2.67
#228Overall(Jam)2.76
#253Graphics(Jam)2.55
#282Theme(Jam)2.45
#284Humor(Jam)1.74

Comments

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

Interesting idea, but I kept dying!

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Cool music and decent graphics.
The gameplay is quite broken though, due to bad controls and lack of feedbacks. I am sure that this all stuff that you can fix later though ;)

master4523 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:56pm

The controls were a bit confusing, it took me few minutes to understand how they worked. You should have added more feedbacks (audio/graphic effects) for the player when he's using the mouse controls. However, I did enjoy this game. It was smooth, and the pixelish graphics kinda fit well here, it was interesting. Also, the music was too great but too short, maybe you should have looped it

Wet Heads says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Thanks for comments.
Yep, We're going to balance it, add missing arts and do much more stuff later, outside the LD. Loop music too)
About feedback. What it could be? Cursor changing maybe?

Wet Heads says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

..or maybe tips? Small training lessons?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Cant play windows games :-(

carrymove says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:06pm

Rex Peppers, it is JAR. You can launch this also on Linux and OS X.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:19pm

As the guys before me: The idea is really cool! It's just a bit too hard though. I don't seem to progress very far and I struggle a lot with getting as far as I get now. Maybe you could make a little youtube-tutorial or something? (So you won't have to change the game)

mokujin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:20pm

wow, interesting gameplay

schnerble says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Very unique - I like the idea and the style. It is a bit confusing, though :) Maybe some display would help, like a number of attack minions, floating minions, etc. The music is very cool, though it should probably loop :) Oh, and the About button didn't work for me.

Madball says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:35pm

It's like a tech demo, but a very interesting one. You need to loop the music, make checkpoints, make in-ground text collidable (some minions got stuck there), etc etc etc. Then it'll be great.

Wet Heads says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:41am

I could, but it's too late, no?

Wet Heads says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:15am

*can
Gosh, my english is bad so far

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Didn't run. I'm on Ubuntu 12.10, 64bit. I'm using OpenJDK 7 runtime. The main menu showed up, nothing really all that fancy, but when I click 'Start game' it doesn't run, it just turns into a blank screen.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:42pm

same problem as Pixel^3 on Ubuntu 12 with Oracle Java 7. On Mac OS X 10.8.2 the Jar can't be launched (Java 6).. sorry.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:58pm

My Mac can't uncompress rar-files, sorry :(

Freakill says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:17am

I really liked the concept and the flocking of the circles around the player or where you indicate them with the mouse. Felt a little bit confusing and never finished to fully master how to control yellow ones though :(. Despite of that, I really like the art and the concept of the game! I have been playing a lot! Sometimes circles got stuck inside the text in the land hehe, I guess that is not white but "empty space" :P. The song is too fast for my taste, dunno but the mood of the game was way more relaxed than the song played. I can really see this game being increased by better looking effects (like each minion leaving particles behing it), and adding more minion types, like ones that lighted around you in the dark, that allowed to create bridges on lava, etc... Really nice start and entry for the Jam! :D

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:13am

I did enjoy playing through, but found that my only strategy was to run for my life :D Having arrow keys + mouse is not really convenient for playing though, WASD + mouse would've been easier.

Nice one, looking forward to your next LD entry!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Kept dying, repeatedly :(. The gameplay seems to fight against itself at points but the concept was pretty darn intriguing. Would love to see this fleshed out some more.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]