December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Goblin rampage

by kannas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

here' s my first entry to Ludum dare. the art is horrible, the sound is (???) and the code is a total mess. probably you will find some bugs that i didn' t noticed. but, you know what? i enjoyed every hour of this event! even if right now i am tired, i barely feel it, because i never felt this kind of emotion!

I hope your feelings about this event are the same. For the guys that have finished: good work. for the others giving the final touchs, hang on! just 2 hours and you can go to bed!

at least this is what i' m going to do. Good night! :D


THE GAME

you are a goblin. you want candies. there are kids. Is it easy? Nope!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#218Theme3.54
#228Humor2.95
#372Fun2.83
#523Innovation2.52
#553Mood2.42
#614Overall2.52
#621Audio1.08
#658Graphics2.12

Comments

bwdevel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:23am

Haha! Who knew that one could string together a series of simple game mechanics into such a fun game. Great submission!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Nicely done. Graphics can be better but the parallax scrolling is nice.

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Is it winnable?

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Nice game, stealing candy from a children!

Regnisab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Really fun but could do with some nice 8-bit music and sound effects

Contraspect says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Nice, I love your last-minute graphics!

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

What a hard game. The goblin was very slow, the people shooting at me were very fast. The hitbox of the goblin was huge, so they constantly got to me. And then once I could shoot, i shot in the wrong direction :(. And in the end one person started sine wave shooting at me, completely killing me. Was that on purpose? This was not avoidable at all.

Nice game, and congratulations on finishing your first entry. Yes, everyone of us has the same feelings on this event. That's why we keep coming back ;)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Not a bad game :3 Nice try.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Nice and enjoyable.

Pope PAF says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Does this game deal with Darrius Kennedy?!

kannas says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49pm

thank you everyone for your feedback!

@pope Paf: no, there' s no reference to that case. in fact, i knew about that event after i saw your comment. the similarity with that event is merely casual

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Also Works in FireFox

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Fairly new gameplay and nice scrolling!

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:12pm

I beat it! I think it would be better if you could also click the mouse to shoot, since you use your mouse to aim. I also think it would be better if the goblin was a little faster.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Pretty difficult but fun!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:21pm

50 candles to win and 10 candles to shoot seems a little harsh, you never get to shoot if you want to win. Fun game out of so simple mechanics. Really needs audio, especially music.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Nice entry. I can't mark you too harshly on the graphics, especially since it all came together very nicely.
Look forward to seeing your work again next LD :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]