Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cow Stealer - ParaPup - Jam Entry

Howdy

This is my First Game every made, You play as a UFO and take cows by shooting them.

Use Up, Down, Left, Right to move the ship and Spacebar to fire the beam.

An M is to turn of the sound if it get's to much.

Let me know what you think for a fresh new developer.

View ParaPup's journal. | View all entries by ParaPup

Ratings

Coolness100%
#145Humor(Jam)2.68
#216Audio(Jam)2.30
#228Theme(Jam)2.93
#269Mood(Jam)2.32
#278Graphics(Jam)2.39
#296Fun(Jam)2.10
#308Overall(Jam)2.23
#313Innovation(Jam)1.89

Comments

Mitchy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

Great game, reminds me of when I use to play old retro games. Love the little faces on the cows. :3

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27am

Impressive for a first game. The purple ray collisions are weird though. Cute cows :3

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

Well done for your first Ludum Dare! I'm impressed that you got some sound effects and music in, for your first time. :)

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52am

High on the humor rating, because of the funny collision! ;-) Otherwise, nice for a first time - don't stop making games!

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

Nice game, but maybe a simple challenge (time limit with score requirement, for example) would make this more enjoyable.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

Congratulations on your first game and well done for using Stencyl! Obviously it's going to be pretty basic for a first game but you did pretty well.

There doesn't seem to be an aim to the game however, there's no challenge as far as I've played. You would probably want to add different cow types that move, or fly or people to try and stop you stealing cows. A high score number would also make it more enjoyable.

I also don't see why you can move up and down - left and right seems to be all you need.

But great job getting it out!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Well done on both your first Ludum Dare and your first game. Something to pose a challenge (e.g. enemies to avoid, timer, obstacles) would add a lot to this concept.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

It's a fun little game. Although it could have used some score to keep track on what you're doing.
It was a funny bug that the shoots did stack on top of each other. Also the cows did that once on me. I had a cow on top of another cow.

It's weird how the graphics are so different though. As the space-ship looks really basic, and the cows do too, the ground tiles look way different and kinda more polished. Did you take a lot of time drawing them, or did you take them from somewhere? I like it when everything is in the same style, that's all ;)

Way to finish a game ;)

lucasncv says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Keep making games! :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

@joekinley The dirt and grass I just through in Fireworks and made it one colour and then added noise to it, as for all the other things I did them all by hand.

@All I'm new to this Am I allowed to make a second upload if It's within the Jam time?

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Congrats on your first game. :) Something trying to stop you in the game would likely help with the gameplay.

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Great job!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Very good work for a first timer. I liked the music, very X-Files vibe to it.

madpew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

You web-link doesn't work for me (IE9). Played at Stencyl. Not bad for a first timer.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:07pm

@madpew I'm not sure why it doesn't work on IE9 I have the code in there, Thankfully I included other links. Thanks for playing and rating ^.^

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:15pm

good for first game!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

I stole lots of cows, good first attempt!

Some challenge would be good as an addition of course

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Good first attempt! Don't stop :)

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Really nice first game and cool entry! Keep the good work! Loved the art of the game; music and graphics! :D As other people said, look forward to add behaviour to cows or a counter for how many one has collected, event a timer so game finishes and you can try to collect more cows next time.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Like the star effect :)

poga says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Cute game :D Just love the cow and the simple feeling

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Simple, but fun.

Cell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Pretty enjoyable, a high rating in fun :)

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

idk ... find it a bit boring =\

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27pm

very good for a first timer, but its a bit boring after a few seconds in

rylgh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29pm

nice job for a first game :)
as to whether you can do another upload in jam time: i think you're allowed to fix major bugs whenever, and if you want to add features, just add another link called "Post-Compo Version" or something which points to your updated build. probably can't submit a game to both the Compo and the Jam.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33pm

I got a glitch where a cow went under the grass.

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Because it is your first time I will spare you the words of criticism. But everybody have to start somewhere and this start ain't bad ;)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Well done on your first game, quite the undertaking. I hope to see more from you in the future. :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00pm

It's a very good start ! Maybe next time you'll add a goal, different enemies etc !

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Very nice for your first game! My main criticism is that you need to have some sort of win/lose situation to end the game.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Impressive for a first game! Keep it up!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Not a bad first game! I suggest you keep working on it. Maybe add a scoring system, or a cow-counter for the UFO, so you have to drop off cows at the mothership, or something like that.

And I love the bug where the cows end up on top of each other. ;)

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Very nice for a first game! Next time add some challenge. And a goat :)

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Hey, another abduction game! Definitely a fun play, I look forward to seeing more.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Yep, pretty basic. Few cows spawned underground, and I'd make make my BGM loop at least 15 seconds.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Just lack a tiny bit of progression :)

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Quite buggy (cows stacking on top of each other), but really nice for a first time entry. Good job.

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Nice little game, got a bit repetitive.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27am

Great start! Would love to see some goals or challenges.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

Well done on making your first game! This is a great first game - you should feel proud for making this! I agree with some of the other comments that it would be good to have enemies/progression or something to make the gameplay a bit more fun. Really good effort though :)

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:06am

Would be great if the cows actually floated up into the ship, but other than that - nice concept and well excecuted.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

Well done on making your first game, ParaPup! You've made a good start. I hope you either continue to develop it - adding a timer and enemies to evade - or take what you've learned and build upon it for your next game. :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53am

A few graphical glitches with the rays and the ufos, but nothing serious! Fun to play for the first few seconds before you realize that's it :P

Good job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:04am

Thanks for rating my game!
Awesome game btw

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:04am

This was fun. I'd like to see a score and a timer or more difficult levels.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:07am

>.< Wow thank you all I'll be taking these comments and using it for the next Ludum Dare and hopefully I will come up with something nice, I might add to this game and I was think once it had those things probably throw it on the App Store and Google Play >_< But I can't thank you all enough for being so helpful.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

Congratulations on your first game! I really liked the cow sprites. The gameplay was simple but it was good enough for your first game.
The music was a bit too loud though, and the sound when the UFO was moving was a bit annoying.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

Needed more, like a win/loss condition or simple score. I captured about 10 cows and stopped after that, due to no feedback from the game telling me what to do. You can also spam the tractor beam key and spawn multiple ones. Good start but you need to do more with it as it's not quite ready. Spend a few more days on it and see what you can do. You learn a lot just getting this far. Take the next step!

epiplon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51am

Although I've made one or two games before, I know you feeling when I started. But I will give it some advice.
First, your game needs an ending or some feedback, as @GeorgeBroussard said. It means that, as him, I stopped after some time because it got me bored, continuing was just pointless.
Second, learn everything you can about collisions! It's one of the core aspects that almost every game have and the better you do it, higher are the chances of success. Because no one wants to see a person and a wall overlapping, right?
So, the thing that I liked the most was the idea and the humor (stealing cows is a funny thing).
Good luck, keep working!

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

fun gameplay idea. sounds made me giggle. a score and lose conditions would be cool

Stryphe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03am

Nice game, I liked your twinkling stars and your cow sprites. Keep up the good work!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:05am

It's a funny game but the idea is just unoriginal.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

Fun little game! Good work with the audio, and although the purple ray collisions were a little strange, I had fun stacking them weirdly :P

CaptainIcy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53am

Nice little game. Really not much to do, though, but that's actually kind of okay! It means you spent more time on finishing it and making it fun than you did on thinking up great big things to put into the game and failing a bit, like I did.

I'd really love to see an expanded version of this. I think it has a lot of potential if you added more content to the game.

Yacodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:18am

Great for a first entry, but it miss something to be a "complete" game.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:38am

We can all be handing out advice, but what I wonder is what you think the next tweak or feature to improve this game is? What would you prioritise, and why?

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:49pm

It's a cool game for being your first one! Although even if the potential is there, the gameplay is too repetitive and boring right now. Decent graphics, and not so great sfxs.
Could use some polish.
P.s.
If I hold the spacebar, stuff happens.
P.p.s.
Stencyl is cool for really simple stuff, but I suggest you to switch to real code as soon as possible ;)

REIN1 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Good story~

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:59am

Nice first game, but I wonder why not goats? :)

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:02am

Nice job for your first time! :D I hope this inspires you to keep going and pursue your passion!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:06am

Aww, those cows look so happy. Better change that! Nicely done.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

The movement of the UFO is good, not much else though.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

The movement of the UFO is good.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Gets very repetitive, you should include a score or a win/lose condition or something. However, not bad at all for a first game, like Ratking says, keep doing games ! :)

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Haha those cows look so awesome! Only issue (a minor one) is that the positioning sometimes goes a little weird (like if you hold down space while not moving, and cows spawning on top of each other).

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Very nice for the first game!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Loved the mood :D

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:40am

Sorry I did not find the game entertaining but good job for a first game. Continue programming, you will create an awesome game, this is not it though. As for the theme, I felt it barely fit the theme

Arakade says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:52am

Ditto on what most said. Good for you for entering. Wow! that you got so much done :-)
p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:56am

Good for first game, aim a bit higher though.

auhsoj_ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:51am

Nice job!

Only, I noticed that once and a while a cow would be missing an eye or two...

But Its really good!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Next up: herds of cows, then: evading cows, then: cows with lasers, then: keeping track of weight of cows and the ship and how it affects control of the ship, then: having to deal with an organised cow militia. Go!

raincole says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:37pm

When you fly close to the ground, the collision effect becomes very strange...

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Good for a first game but would be greater with a goal

eraldo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:21am

Nice. I would have liked to see some kind of challenge.
(but maybe some villains don't like challenges) :D

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Not bad for the first game! I like cow sprite, it's really cute ^_^

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:47pm

But why are the aliens the villains? It's for science!
Nice first game, but a highscore or so would have been great :)

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:48pm

needs a lot of work, dont give up :)

pereubu says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:28pm

nice for a first time, naow add some more ubr-l33t-physics to da game D:

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:44am

Good first attempt! Would be keen to see some actual game-play added and the concept fleshed out.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Make a gradual increase of complexity and a scoring system... and there you will have a real game, that you will be abble to call your first real game ;)

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:57am

Played for a bit, couldn't tell if something was supposed to happen. The movement felt a bit glitchy. Great job on finishing something for your first LD, it's tough!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]