Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet Hell Reversed - arch.jslin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*UPDATED DOWNLOAD LINK* My bad! The old Windows ver. download link a few hours ago didn't provide related DLLs, It's working now!

This is my first ever LD. :)

I made a prototype bullet hell game, with playable side REVERSED, annnnnd.. I hope that's enough for explanation. :p

Use z, x, c button and mouse to control, there are some info/hints on screen as well.

There's no sound, the art is crap, I just want to try out my idea :p And encountered some programming issue... so time flies by. The current gameplay is somewhat playable, and the game is pretty short, so please try out and leave some comments, thanks :)

Made with Love2D, windows executable included, .love source as well, but I don't have the executable for other platforms.

View arch.jslin's journal. | View all entries by arch.jslin

Ratings

Coolness79%
#60Innovation3.74
#82Theme3.87
#246Overall3.21
#352Fun2.87
#456Mood2.63
#494Humor2.16
#573Audio1.42
#606Graphics2.27

Comments

gameXcore says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:59pm

I cant run this game, getting the following error:

---------------------------
bullethellreversed(1).exe - System Error
---------------------------
The program can't start because DevIL.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27am

Just download this: https://love2d.org/
and put the game inside what you unzipped with that dll.

Enjoy!

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

Really like your concept. The bullet hell made me feel so powerful.

I have no idea how I beat that guy down...but I did...FUHAHAHA!!!

edric_garran says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

Good idea... With a little polishing and more pattern options it would be great :D

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

Heyy very similar to my entry :D great programming! that guy is really slippery :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=8733

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20am

@gameXcore
I am terribly sorry for forgetting bundle the Love2D DLL's in the download!! God I must have been too tired...

Download link fixed and I assure you this is the same one as 5 hours ago. :)

Direct Link:
https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_28Oflq8xnPNzVOZmNkUlUxRFU


@feiss
Thank you! I went to rate you game too :) It's very nice idea to combine path drawing and shooting/action games!

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21am

This is one of the few ideas that I was considering, I'm really glad to see someone made it!

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45am

Kinda strange gameplay, but you implemented the theme very well. Good job!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13am

@angelk
Thank you! Hope you get around to implement this kind of game in the future!

@Sheep
Yes, it was a literal transposition from "Hero" to "Minion & Boss" in bullet-hell kind of game, and I just want to try out the idea and didn't give it much thought beforehand. After implement it I think I have to take this idea to some other direction, but there's potential.

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:04pm

We both got the same idea, my concept is similar :D cool beans.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

@SkyWolf
Yeah! I saw a few shoot'em ups actually. Glad you found my entry too! :D

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:14pm

I really liked this one! Really good to be the bad in an R-Type game, and hero AI is good enough to make it a challenge! I think it would be good to go forward on the control of the enemies you send at the beginning, maybe planning further ships tactics? Simple assets but addictive!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

@Freakill
Thank you! Yes, I had a few more ideas for minion ship formations or even more ship types, but I was hoping to at least understand what it would be like with only 3 archtypes of formations.

Then I spent time to fix programming issues and balancing, so I ran out of time. :P

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

That's fun!
I was confusing at the first, thought I have a invincible AI,
then I know I was wrong, and lose lol.
Hero is so hard to beat!!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30am

Cool, bullethell is fun!

Atomic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47pm

I like the idea but the gameplay feels too random to me..

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45pm

@Husky & KWL_TW
Thanks. :)

@Atomic
Currently the first part of the game is pretty random yes. When I had the idea I was thinking if the player can actually corner the hero using some strategy of calling different formations into the battlefield, if you count all the directions of the 3 archtype formations, it'll be like close to 10 choices and I can't think of a better UI in time, thus the randomness you felt.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Good idea ! A bit hard too !

Digiraze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12pm

How did you do the AI for the hero? Mine is dumb =P

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39pm

really awesome! I wish you had more control over attacks you were creating though. Maybe have more aiming in the 'level part' not just the boss part? Or draw with your mouse where baddies will go, bullets will go n some such. really fun too. keep it up!

Logun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:07pm

That AI ! Great !

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26pm

@Edocentrique
Thank you :)

@Digiraze
I tried to calculate the speed (vector) of the nearest "incoming" bullet (IMPORTANT: not leaving bullets) to the hero, and basically make the hero go perpendicular ways to that vector. There's another vector to keep in mind: the vector from that particular bullet to the hero.

Make hero go sideways to the bullet's speed vector only, is not good, when you have to "go around" the bullet.

I am sure there are better ways to develop the AI, currently my method don't work when the hero is surrounded with bullets. In that case the information of any particular bullet is not useful, AI has to find a breach in the bullet wall. I think it's a lot harder than what I did.

@radmars
Thank you :) I played NONEX (which replied to me up there, his entry is 8733), and he got the drawing control, which is super great. However, I kinda loved the old school minion formations in bullet hell games though, I'll try harder to find a better UI for it.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26pm

@Logun
Thank you. :)

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Download link is broken again :( It keeps telling me Google Drive is not available.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26pm

@bushmango Sorry! I am not sure what happened, by thus far I didn't find any problem with Google Drive... maybe it's account setting and/or region related issue on google's part.

Anyhow, I uploaded the same version of game to dropbox, plz check the download links again if you see this. :)

rftr says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Very cool and fun. I would love to see more of this :D

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17am

I've wanted to play something like this for a while. Despite the lack of audio, it's still pretty good. The graphics seem appropriate for this kind of game, and it's pretty well balanced, although you can win by pressing random buttons. Giving the Good Character bombs might make it more challenging, especially if you add more levels later. Giving the boss more attack options would be cool, too. It was still pretty entertaining with what you had~

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14am

@rftr Thank you!

@Shugor I appreciate the feedback! I wish I had the time to carefully design strategic usage of different minion formations. And of course more weapons & abilities for both the Hero & Boss would have been nice. I'd definitely looking into this part. :)

Digiraze says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Thanks you very much for the explanation. I really enjoyed this game, hopefully you will continue with it.

My thinking right now on the whole AI is, yes do what you are currently doing, but when the hero is surrounded by bullet (or minions in my case), put those bullet/minions into tiles, and use djikstra pathfinding to get out of it. That's what I would try next.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:43pm

@Digiraze I think that's pretty clever. Since you mentioned partitioning the objects into tiles, I am also thinking maybe simple BFS (to the exit) works?

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Boss wins! Yeah!

Is miss the audio (In a shooter! How could you!), but I like the idea and it's rather fun to watch your hordes decimate the hero and later on finish the slaughter. He's pretty evasive though! (I'm quite sure that's not his first time embarking on this mission.)

The graphics are decent - not pretty, but they serve their purpose.

I'd have loved to have a bit more control over the movements of my minions. Right now I feel like mashing the keys and hoping for the best works best. A few more attacks for the boss would've made that fight more entertaining, but I understand that there's only so much you can do in 48 hours.

Oh, and what does the "cost" in the boss battle mean? Does it cost my health?

All in all: Pretty fun game. Good job!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58pm

The winning strategy for me was to mash z,x,c in the first phase, then mash z and hold the mouse while dragging up and down the window like a madman. Or like a mad villain, if you will. Nice implementation and AI.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Very nice reverse bullet-hell. Great work.

BTW I fixed the Windows build on my project, if you'd still like to check it out - http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=2947 Cheers!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:22pm

@Tobias Thank you for the praise! I should've at least record some pewpew sound or just use bfxr to generate one quickly... :p And yes, I guess I'll have to find some time to do a post compo version just to add sound and more strategy or attacking options. About the cost it's just one of my lazy mistakes... There's no cost for using bullet waves, I just forgot to take it out. orz

@zenmumbler Thank you! Sometimes the mashing can be done more efficiently (like when the hero is camping one spawning point of the minions then don't use that formation), but yes overall it's just mashing currently.

@Dark Thank you! I'll try your game again!

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:17am

A very cool idea!
I enjoyed the game, though it's hard to figure out a strategy that will actually allow you to win reliably! Keep working on this!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Good concept and solid AI. Extra points for the fact that I couldn't beat the game even after 4 tries :(

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:52am

@Pacifist Games & @Mista Koo
Thank you guys both! I'll work on the strategy part pretty soon, hopefully! :p

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Cool idea. The AI for the main player works quite well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]