December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Dragon's Treasure

by MALHCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kill the heroes that come to get the trasure from you!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#230Audio2.83
#456Graphics2.73
#487Overall2.77
#540Fun2.47
#542Innovation2.48
#598Humor1.88
#598Theme2.62
#614Mood2.27

Comments

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Nice idea. So far I haven't found any use for the second ability - the delay is just too big considering how fast they grab the stuff. You should consider having the thiefs run back/forth between treasure and border (unless they do so anyway at some point in time).

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Ok, sound effects are as far the best! Thieeeeves! :D

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Nice game! Very good quality in all the aspects. The playability could be improved with some hotkeys F1,F2,F3 to select the spells, like in WoW. Impressive audio by the way!

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:34pm

As has been said before you really do need hotkeys for this. I also don't really see the need for the fireball. Yes it hits an areas but there is a massive delay in using it. In general I found that my clicks weren't always firing off the attacks even when I could use them.

But besides that it's a pretty solid game. I liked your graphics and the sounds. And I like that you took time to make the coin pile go down over time. A nice little game.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Very solid game ;) The Audio is awesome. But I dunno why the dragon is the Villain because he only defends his treasure

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Nice first entry !

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:26am

Not bad.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:53pm

477, 100 gold is maybe a little to much for the playtime. the game start to be hard at 20. Funny because your game look like a polished and high paced version of mine :) liked it but yes, without hotkey, i lost a lot of piece when using the others spell.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:17am

The lighting on the coins is nice. If you had two or three coin bitmaps and randomly picked them, and two or three hero characters, it would go a very long way.

An extension of the game could be to be steering the dragon around the pile - the dragon moving at a fixed speed perhaps - and shooting, rather than the top-down god-like targeting?

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:06am

Pretty good. I would have mapped the powers to 1/2/3 for ease of use. I guess dragons = villains? Cool.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:27am

A decent entry. Needs a little more variety to keep it interesting for a longer time. Good sfx and music. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]