December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Quiet man

by foksa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here are some instructions:
Shoot everything that moves :)
Watch for policeman and soldiers, if not killed fast enough they will kill you
Headshots fill adrenaline, when filed press space to slow down time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#483Theme2.93
#545Audio1.62
#626Fun2.23
#686Humor1.52
#705Mood1.92
#727Overall2.16
#747Graphics1.60
#760Innovation1.53

Comments

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39am

First of all this game needs explanation in the form of a tutorial or just text either here or on the website.

I like the idea of playing a hitman and I think the gameplay is executed reasonably well. The sound is nice but the way the people peek out is good.

It would have been nice to have been told what the different people were at the beginning though. Well done for getting it completed!

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

it's hard to say whether I'm acting as vallian...

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

This could have done with more of an explanation of what's going on - I never figured out what adrenaline does. The idea of a shooting gallery which can shoot back at you is cool, though.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:46am

A bit frustrating because of the window sizes. Maybe I'm not good at targeting, but I could barely aim fast enough to prevent those guys shooting me back.. Thanks for the game, though!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:07pm

I worked out what was going on after a couple of attempts and got through - I still have no idea what adrenaline was and it was a surprise when a *green* guy shot at me - then I realised that people to shoot came in from the right/left and people who shot back come from the bottom!

foksa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

I added instructions in game info

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24pm

It was fun to play, and it was well made and properly balanced. Only quite hard to play on my notebook with just a stupid touchpad. But I had fun and kept killing everything that moved. It was nice to see what are the bad guys (to me) as they came from down upwards rather than moving from side to side.

Nicely done and congratulations on finishing a game.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

I figured out what adrenaline does. If you get enough headshots in a row the bar is full and you can do time slow-mo. I like this mechanic :)

Klakwa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28am

It's pretty fun!

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Wow, fun game. Very simple too. I didn't notice the police was why I was losing until second round. Then I read the instructions and realized there was a soldier too? I didn't see him yet.

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Definitely a bad guy. What's the adrenaline for?

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47am

Really simple and clean, though it's quite surreal to see people disappear behind the walls immediately after passing a window.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Wow, thats really hard to target them.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Yay killing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]