Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A small village - Edocentrique - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry !
Classic FPS control, space to jump, shift to run.
You play as a character who can only shoot brick, in his quest to make trouble !

All was made in 48h, with javascript, unity, flash for design, a little bit of photoshop, and some music tools !

Let me know what you liked/disliked !

Edit: sorry about the Door Keeper, i wanted him to drop a key but instead you just have to deal with a lot of his clones and try to kill the good one ! When you'll kill him, a door will open...

View Edocentrique's journal. | View all entries by Edocentrique

Ratings

Coolness100%
#265Audio2.71
#304Humor2.71
#337Graphics3.01
#346Theme3.26
#350Overall3.02
#379Mood2.75
#404Fun2.77
#673Innovation2.18

Comments

Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Cool

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

I spent a lot of time shooting on that flag lol! cute game !

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59am

Couldn't find the door keeper :(

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01am

that was cute =)

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:11am

Nice game! A little difficult to aim, so one has to correct the trajectory of the bullet, but nice, adds some difficulty :P Still guessing what are the little things that shoot and shout like puppies hahahaha :)

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:50am

One of the best games I played this edition

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Yeah sorry about the Door Keeper, i wanted him to drop a key but instead you just have to deal with a lot of his clones and try to kill the good one ! (i'll make an edit for this)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

it's possible to walk off the game area: http://s659.beta.photobucket.com/user/bobbyboy00/media/glitch_zps8894dc2d.png.html

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Very Good job, KISS theory is used and it's a wonderful game :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

yeah i haven't make invisible wall all across the island but i allowed the player to make big jump or to get out, next time i'll keep the player from escaping so quickly !

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

KILL ALL THE VILLAGERS!

Liked the flag/soft cloth bit, nice touch.

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

Killed everyone, escaped the village :)

The game would be more fun if it was more challenging. The way it is, everything is too easy.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

I'm taking note about that too :)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Couldn't find the gatekeeper :(

faustine.suco says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

There is no gatekeeper but to find the doorkeeper follow the instructions : kill everyone !!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Is the villager throwing you when you jump on them a voluntary thing? :P

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Of course not ^^ they are innocent people who just scream around and are afraid !

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Quite good, nice gameplay.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

A fun game! When you think it's all over you are presented with a new quest! Good job.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00pm

I escaped the island by jumping off the waterfall >.<

I never found out why I have cash.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Maybe in the future cash could be used for buying new stuff !

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Love music!

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

That was a really nice little game, well done :) I really liked the graphics especially the textures.

Missbetty says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Nice game !! love textures, king, and princess!!!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Very cool! I enjoyed killing everyone.

Nik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17pm

A nice little game, I had fun playing. Nice work. Naturally I jumped off the castle into the endless abyss right at the end

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Fun. I liked the jumping puzzle and the hidden path up.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13am

There's a lot of assets here to make a fun little game, but it's sort of weird that the only creatures that seem to fight back are bunnies.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

Good Job

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

Fun game! Killed all the dudes, and the sheep and escaped the island safely! I did find the aiming a little tough initially but once I got used to it, it was fine :) Nice touch adding the cloth for the flag! :D

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:41am

REALLY good entry. Extra points for actually making a decent game in 3d :)

se1by says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46am

Very nice game, but it needs some strong enemies.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19am

Although there's little challenge, the humour makes up for it - the normally defenceless rabbits being the only things to attack you, solving 'puzzles' through shooting, etc. :)

I also liked the use of physics and the inclusion of a story. The sprinting felt good too (though I only found out near the end!).

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:24am

Nice! I like the clothe physics. I don't know much about Unity, but it would be nice if I could look the mouse somehow. Also, a mouse sensitivity adjustment slider would be nice.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

Pros: I enjoyed the simple style.
Cons: The controls could have been a bit sharper. I had to mute the music.

ming_tea says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:08am

Really nice job!

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01am

cute art style. man i wonder why all these villagers are so scared of me. +100 points for being able to escape from the level

Tanner says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

[x] gun
[x] jumping
[x] cash
[x] mention of a goat
----
great entry!

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06am

Nice, made me laugh when I escaped the island by ramping off the wall and falling into the abyss. (:

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38am

Awesome 3d game for a 48 hour compo!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00am

Moar XP!
Cool MinCraft style game!

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:21am

Great job! Nice graphics :D

frogmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44am

Hmm, it was fun. Nice audio and interesting art!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17am

The prompt to "find the gatekeeper" at the start is misleading if you have to kill everyone.

I wasn't very impressed by the rest either. There's not much interaction beyond throwing blocks, and even that is clumsy.

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:22am

Cloth physics, awesome! The music was cool too.

har_g says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23pm

The only wrong point is that i take time to find the little stair to go to the doorkeeper. And the flag disturb me : i try to shoot it :)

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:55pm

I can walk on water D:

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Nice graphic style (Although a bit too "minecraftian"). When I hit a human once, there was no real feedback that I was "hurting" him instead of just hitting him, so I did not understand that I was able to kill them.
I had to read the description to get it :(

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35pm

pretty great game just a little bit short.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Thank you all for your comments so far !
I understand, i need to make objectives a little bit more clear, add some info on damage, stop player from getting out of playzone, and add some difficulty !

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

The flag is really out of place in a village full of cubes (I meant in a good way) :p Yeah, reminded me of some assassin/hitman like game... :)

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01pm

That was fun. I also enjoyed shooting the flag :) good job

otus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Here are a few things I found could be somehow fixed:
The camera controls - The mouse is still there, and if you ever let it leave the screen and then click... well.. you know. It's annoying.
A sense of purpose - I had no idea what I was doing. At first, I read the text and was like: Okay, which one of these ten dudes is he? And then when I killed all of them, the message changed to tell me to find the king. So I wondered: Where is he? I couldn't find it, and after a few more minutes attempting to, I just gave up. Why was I doing all of this anyway? Who am I? No purpose, no backbone to the story.

And in the end, I just couldn't find the experience enjoyable.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47pm

The sliding after running is a little bit too much, otherwise a nice game. Really cool music!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46pm

I'm a total goat killer. Great use of Unity btw

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Good job! Very nice game.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Interesting, not sure what the door keeper was, so I just shot everything, then found the slug/rabbit things, but couldn't escape the island

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59pm

I made it to the end. Nice game, I liked how there was a sense of progression from one thing to the next.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59pm

Dude, that was so cool. I loved the physics and the graphics.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27am

This game was pretty fun to play. A little bit more recognition when you complete and objective would be nice, as I didn't realise I had defeated the door keeper at first. Nice game though, excellent work for 48 hours!

Meep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:51am

Nice little game; I feel a bit more difficulty would make it more enjoyable. Great work, though! :)

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:10am

Nice game, but I had some hard time finding the target.

csanyk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:34am

Played the Web version, had a hard time with the controls not responding to my input. Couldn't find the Door Keeper:(

Wasn't sure what to do, but I liked the Minecraft-y graphics.

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

Nice job! Easy to get right into the game and start blasting away :D

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:54am

It was interesting. I wish there was a voting option called "How did he do this in 48 hours, wow?!?!"

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:38am

Nicely done. I liked it. Also couldn't find the door-keeper though.

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:43am

Nice game! A bit shock I after see the hero for the first time, I think he's an old man :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56pm

Good technic but gameplay a little blurry...

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Was a little too easy, but I enjoyed it. Goals weren't well defined, but I really liked the Minecraft-ish theme.

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Nice idea, I like how everyone has something to say. The game itself is very easy, as soon as you find out where to go. As was allready said: capturing the mouse, more story, more challenge would make it a great LD game.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:41pm

I didn't really know what to do at first... So I randomly started shooting people, turns out that's what you're supposed to do :P

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:57pm

I assumed that the gatekeeper is hidden, so jumped off the terrain and kept falling until my character died of old age :-) Then I restarted and figured out what I'm actually supposed to do, and the game turned out to be pretty fun :-) Also, I think that the better way to do dialogs is via GUI, they are just billboarded properly.. See my game's source for it. Cheers ;-)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Nice, some good lines of text in there too. It's easy but I guess being a villain with some kind of semi-automatic gun in a medieval village of unarmed peasants would be easy :)

nitramgc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:15pm

"Look, a Goat!" => Best sentence ever in the game!

olkeencole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Fun game, wish the controls had been tweaked to be more fun and there were more challenges throughout the game. When the hero started firing at me I was surprised, but his shots were easily avoided. Slaughtering villagers is fun though.

illugion says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:27pm

"Escape from the island!" -me climbing a mountain that wasnt supposed to be climbed... falling out of the world... well.. at least i escaped LOL XD that was really fun

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:40am

very cute! Kudos!

deathray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:49am

Simple to play and enjoyable! Not sure why I have to leave though. I killed everyone, so I should take over. :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28pm

I love how the NPCs said the silliest things. :D

Hatscat says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Cool game! What I like : The whole atmosphere (nice graphics, good and evil music even if it's a bit repetitive, funny sentences) and to kill innocent people make me fell villain ^^. What I dislike : lack more challenge, it's too easy; and some little details (you should hide the cursor : Screen.showCursor = false;)

raincole says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:19pm

It's hard to aim. Except this everything goes well.

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

I love the world you created and enjoyed running around in it. I wish the characters would react to being shot like run away or something. Also it would be cool if the hero would actually try to hurt you. I'm sure time constraints were a factor in that. I also enjoyed shooting at the cloth-physics flag you had in the center of town. Very nice entry.

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:13am

Pretty cute, it would have been great to see a little more challenge added to the game - but still pretty fun!

dekart says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:53am

Althrough I cannot find the doorkeeper, the overall impression is pretty good!

Strkl says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:02pm

very nice game ! Very funny dialogue, awesome music (seriously, that music was goood !)
The control were a bit floaty, and the location of the objectives were not alway clear (or logical) but I laughed so much withthe little sentences ("It's for my reroll !"

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Yeah, I escaped the island, that was fun.
Good job for your first LD entry

rinaka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:42pm

I liked the soundtrack and the graphics style, particularly the faces of the characters.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Its very simple, but it was fun to play. More and stronger enemies are needed :)

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:34am

Cute game, pretty well polished. Though some of the... turrets? Bugged out and wouldn't shoot at me making this very easy. Also as with all 3D LD games, an inverted mouse option for those of us who find it physically painful to play non-inverted would be nice. :)

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:00pm

short, funny and felt villain! great job :)

odrega says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:37am

Really Cool!
I especially liked how the terrain was shaped, and the textures used it.

pereubu says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:05pm

the flag kept me for about 2 minutes, nice job :3

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Controls are difficult but it's better than force players to get in fullscreen mode for mouse lock. Anyway, make a game like this in 48h is incredible. Good work :)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:20pm

I think I killed the gatekeeper (well, killed everyone), but can't find the king. Jumped off the edge fo the world, which was pretty entertaining.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:23pm

The aiming is a bit weird, but it doesn't spoil anything. I love the blocky graphics

Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:19am

I love that you have a banner with actual cloth physics that bounces when you shoot at it.

It told me to find the king, but I had no idea where he was. I proceeded to wander into the lake, then fall off the side of the world. When I looked up, I could see a lone survivor through the culled backfaces of the ground. No idea how I would reach him though. :)

Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Solid little shooter! Nice work on the music, it felt quite evil. Didn't like that ctrl also shot though.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:34pm

The flag was nice, even if it is invisible one side. It's annoying that the gun shoots to the right of the crosshair, and hitting people multiple times is just effort. Otherwise solid game, even if I couldn't complete it and fell off the map :P

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:02am

Loved the models and the crazy style of the game.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I have money and health but I never spend money and I never lose health! lol
Rad little song you got there... and the brick shooting was quite interesting.

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:26am

nice to see an fps. was able to beat it. none of the enemies attacked back or anything so I guess I was just walking around shooting everything.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I first had no clue what I was supposed to do. I had to re-read the description (and pay attention to your EDIT note) to know exactly "how" to identify the door keeper. Then I retried your game and let me tell you, It's a fairly well-done FPS despite the fact it was done in 48hrs, so Kudos!
Sure, it's lacking music and SFX and a little bit of AI for your "targets" but it was nice to play the "classic" villain of a medieval/fantastic setting.

Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Sorry, my mistake. It DOES have nice music and all. It just that my speakers were not working. I later discovered that and rated properly that section :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]