December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Villingen

by monobo - Jam Entry

You are playing Willy Willhelm, a Villain who causes mayhem and destruction in the city of Villingen. As to why he is doing so is unclear.

The goal as a player is to maximise the destruction done to the city. Willy Willhelm is a bad boy hacker and therefor has gained access to the city's air traffic control system. By manipulating flight directions he cause crashes with physical impact on the cities infrastructure.

You can drag the planes with your mouse after starting the game.

The Windows Version is bundled with a Java Runtime and a launcher executable, other platforms need Java installed to run this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Innovation(Jam)3.07
#136Overall(Jam)3.14
#137Theme(Jam)3.43
#157Fun(Jam)2.86
#185Graphics(Jam)3.07
#203Audio(Jam)2.46
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Marco Jonkers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Nice game!

The planes were a bit hard to grab, though. But other than that, the gameplay seems to work perfectly :)

The credits said that there was music but I didn't hear any music :(

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Can't run...
C:\>java -jar villingen.jar
17 dÚc. 2012 22:45:07 com.jme3.system.JmeDesktopSystem initialize
INFO: Running on jMonkeyEngine 3.0.0 Beta
17 dÚc. 2012 22:45:07 com.jme3.system.Natives extractNativeLibs
INFO: Extraction Directory: C:\Users\admin\Downloads\etga!
17 dÚc. 2012 22:45:07 com.jme3.system.JmeDesktopSystem initialize
GRAVE: Error while copying native libraries
java.io.FileNotFoundException: C:\Users\admin\Downloads\etga (Le fichier spÚcifiÚ est introuvable)
at java.util.zip.ZipFile.open(Native Method)
at java.util.zip.ZipFile.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.util.jar.JarFile.<init>(Unknown Source)
at java.util.jar.JarFile.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.jar.URLJarFile.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.jar.URLJarFile.getJarFile(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.jar.JarFileFactory.get(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.jar.JarURLConnection.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.jar.JarURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source)
at com.jme3.system.Natives.extractNativeLib(Natives.java:153)
at com.jme3.system.Natives.extractNativeLib(Natives.java:113)
at com.jme3.system.Natives.extractNativeLibs(Natives.java:265)
at com.jme3.system.JmeDesktopSystem.initialize(JmeDesktopSystem.java:309)
at com.jme3.system.JmeDesktopSystem.newContext(JmeDesktopSystem.java:228)
at com.jme3.system.JmeSystem.newContext(JmeSystem.java:128)
at com.jme3.app.Application.start(Application.java:387)
at com.jme3.app.Application.start(Application.java:368)
at com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication.start(SimpleApplication.java:130)
at game.villingen.Main.main(Main.java:97)
Exception in thread "LWJGL Renderer Thread" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: Can't load library: C:\Users\admin\Downloa
\etga!\lwjgl.dll
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.load(Unknown Source)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:70)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.run(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:206)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

monobo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Hi blackmagic,
I updated the windows package, please redownload it (link above is updated, new file name is villingen-win32.zip). I hope the issue is gone with that. Thanks for your comment!

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:40am

Nice game, original also

master4523 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:55pm

That game was fun, a bit slow on my computer but still fun.
Usually, in games like that you're supposed to avoid collisions between the planes ; I liked this angle, good job

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:18pm

I liked this a lot, and it's a shame that the FBI will be coming for you soon.

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:41pm

I liked the phsyics, although I did think that even without my intervention the air-traffic controllers of this city were unusually poor :)

Kuulog says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

Very interesting, yet simple game idea.

Cabral says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:08pm

It's pretty nice, the gameplay is very straightforward, the graphics look good and the sounds are fitting. Unfortunately, it ran kind of slow on my computer for some reason, but it was fun nonetheless. I felt it getting repetitive after the second round, though. It's a shame we can't play it on a touch screen, I feel like it would be more fun. I'd also have opted for a shorter time limit to make the game more addictive.

Good job, over all.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:14am

Planes were tricky to grab (especially since there is no feedback about when you are hovering over them properly) but it was loads of fun to fling planes at each other in the hopes that their crash trajectories would hit some buildings! Really cool mechanic and use of the theme! :D

In terms of the packaging of the game. While including the whole JRE with the game does eliminate the problem of people who don't have java installed, it also bloated the file size significantly (~68% of the file size) though I'm not sure if it would be easy to stop jMonkey from doing this. The sound files also accounted for a significant chunk of the size and could probably have been compressed or cut more without anyone noticing (I noticed the biggest file was duplicated in both mp3 and ogg and even potentially not used at all?). The surprising part was the fact that you included all the original blender files for the models as well as the exported j3o files. You really should've trimmed those out as they simply take up space. Sorry for the rant! I'm just a bit psycho about efficiency xD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]