December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Oil Co Exploits

by Arakade - Jam Entry

Was broken when submitted for compo. Now fixed and improved for the Jam! (although still missing sound, music, finished artwork, etc, etc ;-) )

You are Oil Co. Inc. and are land-rushing the Arctic to grab natural resources for Profit! Let's just hope the silly environmentalists are wrong...

Best bit? Its environmental message! Games can be a force for change in the World. This one is based on a New Scientist article about the land-rush by multiple nations.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21628854.800-industries-make-a-dash-for-the-arctic.html -- this was the article that inspired this game but requires New Scientist subscription.
http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg21628853.800-exploitation-of-the-arctic-must-be-reined-in.html - opinion piece re. same concerns.

I'll probably polish this and publish it on Android and iOS -- hopefully it's at least useful for Games For Change (Twitter @G4C) but I might try approaching Greenpeace or the Parliamentary group that the article mentions.

Really enjoyed LD48 :-) Will write-up a post mortem and see you at the next one!

p.s. Thanks for trying it out -- any and all feedback really welcome! It was a solo job using Unity (my first published game with Unity or C#!) + 2D Toolkit (first use) + GIMP.
p.p.s. Updated this text, screenshots and posted links to other platform versions after deadline :-) Android port added Weds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#125Innovation(Jam)3.07
#150Graphics(Jam)3.29
#163Theme(Jam)3.29
#239Overall(Jam)2.71
#281Fun(Jam)2.21

Comments

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

The game didn't seem to do anything when I tried clicking. I'm using Chrome if that helps.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15am

I had the same problem, I clicked but nothing happened. I'm using Firefox.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

Couldn't play either. Mac Chrome.

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

Using chrome - nothing happens when clicking stuff.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

Not working in Firefox

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30am

Just how incomplete is this? :)

Yep, I'm afraid it's not working for me (Opera), either. :/

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

Same as everyone else Im afraid. Clicking seems to do nothing.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

Didn't really work sorry buddy

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Couldn't get anything to happen.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Looking forward to the post-mortem, because I really don't understand where you're going with this right now.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Got two or three tiles to drop down (no idea how/why) in IE10 (Win7 Preview), then the animation stopped. Probably needs some more tweaks.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Not working for me either. Using Chrome. :(

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Chrome and nothing, look like it MIGHT be fun though xD

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Same as everyone else. Not working yet. I put this game to the end of my queue to revisit it. Haven't rated this. Maybe you could explain a bit? Or just confirm that there is no interaction?

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

couldn't get it to work in Chrome OSX

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Clicking doesn't do anything. By incomplete, did you mean unplayable?

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16pm

(author) Thank you, all!

You're all correct -- it's BUSTED! That'll teach me for changing the graphics in the submission hour! Turns out it didn't auto-generate a collider for the ice-blocks making the game utterly non-interactive! That's a one whopping big DOH!

So, given it wasn't really sufficiently complete anyway, I'm going to withdraw from the competition, switch to the jam and use these remaining 5 wee-small hours to improve it a bit and resubmit it. Hope y'all give it another try then?
(Anyone know whether one can get scores reset since I know I'd have rated this ... not great.)

Still, given my personal challenge was publishing something non-perfect, I'm actually calling this a #win ;-) Yay me!

Thanks again for giving it a go :-)

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12am

(author) Right, /sufficiently/ fixed to make it viable!
Really keen to hear people's thoughts on the *actually working* version now!!! Thanks in advance and...

Have at it! :-)

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

(author) ...and added alternative ports and screenshots.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43am

Ha Ha! What a great little game! I really liked the game over screens.

netgrind says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21am

Nice, glad you got it working. It seemed a little odd to have no clue when a block would fall some kind of warning would be nice, but I suppose that building something just to have it start falling as you frantically click to drain all the resources adds a cool tension/excitement.

Arakade says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46am

Few! Thanks guys! 2 positive reviews just made my day ... well, really early morning. Wow, who knew reviewing annoyingly addictive games was addictive!? 05:45 is time for some bed here in UK!

monomanio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Ah, you seem to have fixed it! Looking good, but i think there's a few issues still. I can only prospect and place stones, and there's no game over screen :(

Looks good though, coherent art style!

Keevor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Neat game, although there really isn't anything stopping you from placing mines everywhere without pros[ecting. I guess it doesn't really speed the process up. I still love art style, especially the wave of the ice.

ilo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:38am

Good to see it working as intended, Arakade!

The message in the game that making 'progress' in the game causes you to lose is clear, and I thought the graphics were good, particularly the effects on the text and bobbing ice.

At first, the game itself was a little less clear, however, so it took me a few tries to figure it out. The main things that could be improved were the lack of feedback on selecting the prospect and mine buttons, and that I didn't instantly know what the prospecting messages '8 here' etc. meant.

But, these things can be easily altered and, all in all, a a good effort. I finished by reading the New Scientist article, so I guess that counts as a success! :)

ElScootro says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:54am

Good job, like the concept!

Arakade says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15am

@monomanio
"no game over screen"? that's odd. It can take 5-10 seconds to appear after the last ice drops but it should appear. Um...?
Thanks re. the art style! That means a lot coming from you! (How do you do your gorgeous graphics? How long does it take?)

Re. ice wave (@Keevor & @ilo)
Thanks. This was a difficult choice. It was one of those common coding dilemmas of perpetrating a shortcut (hand placed ice) requiring increasingly more effort vs. better implementation requiring more up-front time with long term payoffs for future features (only the wave made it in). That's one of my biggest doubts on my jam approach. What do you guys think?

The other features it would have enabled ranged from lapping waves through wandering animals to a tower defense approach (in case destroying the North Pole wasn't sufficient to prove you a villain, you'd also be shooting penguins, polar bears, Greenpeace protestors and Santa and his elves!) I'm wondering whether to add this to the final version. Overkill? (Perhaps a sequel?)

@Keevor
Thanks :-) You're right - there was intended to be an extra lose condition of $0 but I ran out of time :-) Even with that, you're right there's something missing. Any suggestions? Perhaps its just a case of balancing? Tweak the costs and it might just resolve?

@ilo
Thanks - lovely to hear the message came through :-) I should have used tracking links just to see how many did similarly but nice to know one finished :-D
Re. approachability, yep - I actually wrote a whole in-game tutorial which would be shown incrementally where the bottom 1234 is. Obviously I switched the one liner in at the final minute :-D Still these are great lessons - time has always been my greatest enemy. If I don't release a final version of this in January, please spam my Twitter as a heinous procrastinator :-O

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:15am

Much better now that it works ;)
Only gripe I have is that it doesn't end, the last block just sits there. I got stuck with one that nothing in it but couldn't do anything.
Solid effort, you might just want to add some cues to how much prospecting/mining is going to cost.

Arakade says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:24pm

@CoffeeOnimal Thanks!
Hmm that's a fair point. Obviously they're random drops based on an increasing probability linked to the global warming. However if random doesn't happen... What would be a good resolution? I /could/ cheat but the rest of the game tries to be a realistic model (including the past & predicted global warming temperatures from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_warming ).

IIRC different models say melting Arctic may be positive and negative feedback loop. I /could/ choose positive which would make those last ones go like hot-cakes!

Alternatively perhaps an "I've realised this might not be such a great idea" button where you retire? (And bonus karma points for players that just hit that before building any mines? ;-) )

Thoughts? Better suggestions most welcome :-)

Arakade says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:30pm

@CoffeeOnimal p.s. yes the costs were in my (outtatime) in-game tutorial! Glad to hear votes that they should definitely be included in the final product :-)

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Interesting concept, although kinda lacking the fun/game element for me. Seemed a little unfinished. Game worked fine on my Android, though, assuming there wasn't meant to be any sounds.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:12am

Did you update the .apk when you published the Jam version? I just put it on my tablet and the game doesn't really appear to do anything.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]