Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bombardier

by NeverAutomatic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*Bugfix/porting(post-48hours): The game now runs in firefox, although it still seems to work best in chrome. Also a small bug fix so the game doesn't get stuck on level 15.*

You're a villain dropping bombs on cities. Killing people awards you money for upgrades. You get bonus money for killing multiple people with the same bomb. Super Goat is trying to rescue the people of the cities, so you should kill them before he gets to them.

(I didn't have time to include a help page in the game but it should be pretty straight forward)

-Click to drop bombs.
-Click the icon at the center of the bottom bar to access the upgrade menu.

Upgrades:

-Explosion Radius: Increases the size of the explosion. Killing all who are hit by it.
-Shockwave Radius: Increases the size of the shockwave.
shockwaves can be used to push people around and possibly set up good combos.
-Bomb Speed: Increases the speed of the bomb. It will take less time to hit the ground.
-Fire Duration: increases explosion duration. Lingering explosive clouds continue to kill anyone who wanders (or is pushed) into them.
-Reload Speed: Reduces time to reload bombs.
-Bomb Capacity: Increases amount of bombs that can be fired before reloading.


I didn't have time to add a level cap either, so basically, when you can kill everything on the screen in one click, you've beaten the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#89Fun3.47
#156Theme3.68
#246Overall3.21
#394Mood2.72
#395Humor2.40
#397Audio2.32
#464Graphics2.71
#520Innovation2.53

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

Oddly addictive.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09am

Great job! Frustrating at first, but satisfying at the end.. good balance and use of theme.

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15am

I'm a sucker for "upgrade" games :) Good job!

For some reason I couldn't get the game to start using Firefox on Windows 7. Worked perfectly in Chrome though so I could be a plugin or something at my end.

Graf_Grun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

You should have made it look like the title screen...

apeandskate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:52am

I don't like games like this... Too addictive ;)

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34am

Reminiscent of Atom Zombie Smasher. Some of the same faults (mop-up becomes tedious). A bit grind-y for my taste.

Nicely realized concept, though.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41am

Very addictive. You shouldn't have made a max level 15 though. I liked my upgrades. :(
Or was it game over because of the Super Goat saving too many? O'well!

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46am

As someone else said, "oddly addictive". It was awesome making my bombs super powerful and being able to kill everyone so quickly.

Oh and btw, the issue FF might be due to a lack of character encoding declared in the html file.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

@gilesa I feel stupid, that was the problem. Thanks for the help! :D

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24am

Nevermind, that wasn't the problem. I got it running in firefox once. But now it doesn't work again. :/ hmmm

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01am

Not very well balanced--took me forever to earn the first upgrade, but then it started snowballing. The 1000000-point blast radius is kind of silly (just kills everyone).

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:05pm

RE: The FF issue, could it be because you're using offsetX and offsetY to get the mouse coords? I think you need to use layerX and layerY for it to work in FF.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Nicely presented, enjoyed this but just wanted a bit more catharsis I guess - perhaps you could do the classic video game trick of "start the game fully powered up then strip all the powers after a few seconds" to give a taste of the potential devastation? The complete package, thanks - Jim

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

@fakeshadows That did the trick. Thank you so much! The game should now work in firefox too.

sletari says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Nice! It's a bit boring on the end of the levels, though, with few people to be bombed

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56pm

At first I thought it was a bit unbalanced but it turned out okay. The "cleanup" of the first few levels is kind of boring, but it gets really epic around level 10. Even when I got to where I could take out the entire city and make $3,000,000 with one bomb, I played a few more levels just for fun. :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:22am

I was kinda disappointed that you can't hit the goat...or can you? The momentum definitely started to build up once you get at least 3 upgrades. Also, I love the "boom" sound :)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:18pm

Nice entry! Great job on the title screen

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:51pm

It was a bit difficult at first but then it quickly became easy after a few upgrades.
I laughed manically :)
Then something strange happended... The sound went really loud and the "uhh" sound pierced my poor ears. That was not the strange part though...
The strange part was that when I turned off the sound on the computer, the "uhh" sounds managed to get through anyway!! How the hell did you do that? I guess you didn't actually mean to though :)

Great game! Perfect theme score!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:24am

That's the first time I've ever heard of something like that. I have no clue what could have caused it. Sorry about your ears. :(

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Well, I maxed out with super-duper bombs! Nice work! Pity there doesn't seem to be any game mechanics yet.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]