December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Patient Zero

by grouchotron - Jam Entry

My submission is an iPad app. Not exactly the easiest format for people to play and judge I know, but its what I was able to throw together over the weekend, and I had a lot of fun making it!

The app is entitled Patient Zero, and your objective is to infect entire towns with the zombie virus. You control your shambling horde with a combination of gestures and power-ups, to evade bombs and roaming guards, and infect defenseless citizens of town. But be quick! If you don't meet your infection quota in time the military will firebomb the town to quarantine the virus!

I know many wont be inclined to download and build the game to an iPad, but may still be curious. I'll try to port it to mac this week, but for those of you who don't want to wait, I've uploaded a demo video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alYxQ1PPDpw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#980Coolness30%

Comments

grouchotron says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Sorry! Thats not the correct youtube url. Look here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alYxQ1PPDpw if you're curious about the game

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29am

No iPad, can't rate. I'll be hard to rate this for anybody, if you need a dev iPad, whatever dev environment it needs, etc. It looks interesting though, try to port in on the good old desktop!

Interbellum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:18am

No iPad, can't rate :(

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:20am

The video is removed because it is too long.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

Yup it would be great if you could port it. I also have no ability to play it due to me being a poor bastard :)

grouchotron says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:29am

@Corne sorry about that, there's a fixed upload here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alYxQ1PPDpw

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Can't rate, but it looks like it has great possibility, like a reverse Atom-Zombie-Smasher. I would certainly recommend you finish this, as it looks like you've got some really interesting gameplay.

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55pm

I really like the idea and the realization (judging from the video). Although I would have been nice to have some sort of "guards" who can shoot the zombies that you strategically overtake. (If that's not the case with the blue dots, I am not sure that I understood what they are.)

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

I can't run this game either, but it does look interesting as a concept. Rather like Infectionator.

grouchotron says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56pm

@MatX Yep! The blue dots are guards, and they shoot any zombies within their range, which is represented by the grey circle around them. They flash red when they shoot, but a less subtle animation would probably be better.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:04am

Too bad I have no Ipad because its looks very interesting.
So no ratings from me

master4523 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:59am

Launched it on an iPad Simulator, from a virtualized Mac OSX environment. :>
The gameplay was a bit confusing the first time you play it but it gets better over time. I found it challenging, graphics are minimalistic but I'm fine with it. That was an interesting game, congratz

haxpor says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Really sorry to find your game out at this time, my dev account just expired!
It's really interesting though, looking forward to it. Please tell us when you successfully ported it.

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Well, I don't have an iPad.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:46am

I would highly recommend recording some gameplay footage.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Sadly, I can't play this because it's for iOS only. :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]