December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Chainsaw Happines

by arandaschimpf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, it seems to be that I made it to the compo.
The game has many features less than planned but don't have the time to make them. The main feature that is missing is the ability to play it on a mobile device. Maybe, I'll fix the bug that didn't allowed it and make a post-compo version. Also didn't have time to put the turtles and goats in the game.
PS: I made a little mistake in the menu, it says "Jugar" instead of "Play". Don't have time to fix it right now, hope you don't mind.

Argument of the game: You are a very evil being. But the love is spreading and threatens you to become a good guy. To stay evil, kill the bunnies as fast as you can shooting a chainsaw with the crossbow. Keep in mind that bunnies spread you with love by touching you and that once you fire the chainsaw, you will have to pick it back.

I hope you like it and looking forward to you feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#267Humor2.82
#346Theme3.26
#421Audio2.22
#588Mood2.33
#590Graphics2.32
#594Fun2.31
#688Overall2.31
#724Innovation1.91

Comments

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Not sure why auto-jump seems to be enabled, that's a little strange. I encountered a couple of bugs; shooting the chainsaw in front of you and just standing it while you rack up kills and I even lost my chainsaw once (I think I shot it under the world).
There's not much depth to it but you do get to shoot chainsaws from a crossbow at bunnies. :D

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Well, the concept is good - firing chainsaws at bunnies - it was going well until my chainsaw vanished!

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Nothing like killing innocent animals with chainsaws, I guess.

Question is, are the bunnies evil for killing you with their love?

Fenmar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Awww. It almost hurts my soul killing cute bunnies with a chainsaw. So good job with making me feel like the villain. I didn't like the auto-jump as it was hard to aim.

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Mechanic gets a bit repetitive and there is not really much to do apart from killing bunnies. Music and graphics are functional.

arandaschimpf says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:40pm

Hi, thanks for playing the game. The bug for when the chainsaw stays on the floor but still kills the bunnies was a little error with the colission mask and I have fixed it. The auto-jump was put in there to make it a little less monotone, but if everyone dislikes it, I can easily remove it. Thank you for your feedback, probably I'll update the game soon in a post-compo version.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:15pm

I'm not a big fan of the autojumping. It's distracting, and in a game where touching enemies is bad, it feels like a disadvantage.

Also, you're not supposed to modify gameplay during the judging. xD

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Good and funny graphics, although I fear you spent too much time on them and not enough on the gameplay - it was very repetitive and got boring quickly.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Fun, but got bored quite quickly though.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:40pm

i feel bad for killing the bunnies :S .... You did a great job the theme xD

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:52pm

I liked the idea of the ammo we have to get back. the sound overall is torturing me.

lorancou says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:57pm

Strange one, but yeah, bunnies + chainsaw, can't really under-rate that :P

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:06pm

You definitely hit on the theme... might get rid of the auto jump and add another enemy besides the clock... good job though.

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Interesting game mechanics. I like the way it works with having to pick up the single ammo all the time.
Auto jump is a little strange, but I guess that represents the impulsivity of the character :)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Firing a chainsaw with a crossbow? Wicked. Was a bit confused about the auto hop unless the guy is trying to blend in with the bunnies by acting like them. Hilarious little game.

Zener says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:02pm

Fun game, killing bunnies is definitely evil. Though The collisions could be better .

3dwoody says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:53pm

The autojumping is certainly confusing. It really put me off as it doesn't seem to serve any purpose. A good bit of fun with the theme though.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:37pm

I think the bright happy background really helped make your actions seem evil. Sound toggle didn't seem to work properly. Game needs more variety to keep interest.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]