Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Firepower! - cwilloughby - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATED WITH POST COMPO LINK. Check it out to see what another 24 hours of work towards this idea produced.

Premise:
You are a new god with the power of fire and water.
Burning things brings you power.
Growing things gives you things to burn.
Fret not that those things are living, for you are a villain.

Backstory:
You are new to this god thing...
Your thirst for power is but a tickle...
Soon it will take everything you have to control it...
Fail to quench and it will consume you entirely...
Take this little island of Peacewellington...
Bend it to your will...
Harness the power of our ancestors...
FIREPOWER!

Controls:
Left click - create fire
Right click - create water

Libraries used:
Unity 3.5
SmoothMoves - 2d within Unity
iTween - animated text
Drumcircle - music

Content used:
Free 8bit font

Personal code used:
2d positioning code
Didn't end up using any of the other personal code I declared

Declarative post:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/09/my-first-ludum-dare-heres-my-setup/

Progress reports:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/15/202440/
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/15/firepower-alpha-progress-report/
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/15/firepower-progress-report-3/
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/16/firepower-progress-report-4/

Broadcasts:
http://www.twitch.tv/cwilloughby/

Final game:
http://www.gravypockets.com/firepower/firepower.html

Final source:
http://www.gravypockets.com/firepower/Source.zip

Post Competition:
Timelapse:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zxoiW0X0FdI&feature=youtu.be

Announcements:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/26/post-compo-expansion-to-firepower/
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/28/firepower-post-competition-version/

View cwilloughby's journal. | View all entries by cwilloughby

Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Innovation3.98
#42Fun3.70
#55Overall3.70
#182Audio2.97
#231Mood3.04
#305Graphics3.08
#401Humor2.38
#490Theme2.92

Comments

Follett says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

This is the kinda game I like. Develop it further and add more stuff. It was great!

Azlen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

very fun. I would love to see something like this on IOS!

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49am

A score of 388750! I reaally like the game, there is a good equilibrium in the gameplay. Aesthetics and music are really good, a game to lose many hours in front of the computer :)

newton64 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50am

Really like the look of this one, and the growing unease as things spiral out of your control.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19am

I could see this being pretty cool on one of them new-fangled touch-screen devices all the kids have these days.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21am

The procedural nature of the graphics was really nice!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:23am

I like it. I got around 200,000 points, but didn't see it when I lost. This was very fun!

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25am

Pretty fun; I managed to just kind of play forever by spreading a bunch of fire and then just swirling water around and I never really lost any power.

Why are red trees bad?

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29am

Got a score of 274250, but this was hilarious. I had plenty of "Uh oh!" moments, and that kept me engaged! On the second playthrough I figured out that the red trees exploded.

The build-up of the soundtrack is great too, and I found myself cackling as I watched things burn.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32am

As Luca found out the red trees explode to spread fire. There was a time when it was tuned to where this mattered more than it does now. In the end, I found the most fun just trying to keep building trees in front of the fire, so that's where it ended up. :)

buspickle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

875,300! Haha, fun game. The music was like sandpaper by the end though.

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

was fun trying to keep the balance

bwdevel says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

If anything, you've AT LEAST got a great minigame here. Great job.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:02am

Nice concept and gameplay, can easily be extended layer. Liked the graphics.

crashbanito says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

A very interesting mechanic of forcing the player to balance out destruction with renewal. I can see this concept being taken much farther.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20pm

There's something awesome gonna come out of this, stick with it! Cheers!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00am

This is pretty fun! I like the management of resource between water and fire. The music blends well with the game.

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:26pm

This is really fun to play with. I liked it most when I had an island completely filled with green, only to then burn it all down. I couldn't keep up with the water after that though.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:28am

After you learn how to control precisely, you play it like hours. CAn be a good mobile idea.

DTG says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:57am

Game was fun, music doesn;t work on the Web Player for me though.

littleball says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:29am

I would like to see this developed further. I got 608250, but felt like that was too easy at times. One you get a good fire going you can plant trees endlessly.

Well done!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:39am

Fantastic! Please please develop it more! I have a huge itch after I finished From Dust for the 4th time... :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Tricky little game! Enjoyed this, smart idea!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Oh hell yeah - that's just great... nice ramp-up of the difficulty level.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:31pm

I liked this. Really like the way it looks especially when the lava all goes crazy! Cool tunes too :)

Joncom says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Very cool concept!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:18am

Fun trying to keep the system balanced. I was unclear when I could lay water or not. Maybe it's all tied into the Power bar? Potential here though. Would develop further. Since you could grow trees I didn't see the theme being as strong as all destruction, but that's minor.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:39am

Thanks for the feedback everyone! This is definitely going on my list of things to explore further.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:39am

@George - thanks for checking it out - water and fire require power to be used. Water can't be placed during the first day for pacing. As an aside - Duke3d is the game that made me go buy one of those crazy PC things back in the day which ultimately led to it being my full time job. It's cool that you've stopped by and played one of mine. :)

CMaster says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:50pm

Neat little simulation-driven game. Lacks villainy a little mind.

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:10pm

its quiet fun but gets boring after a while. Nice work tough!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Pretty sweet! I like the concept, and the graphics were well made.

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:38pm

That's a really interesting game. I love the mechanic!

I almost lasted 6 days. The audio is great and the graphics are fun. Nice little interpretation of the theme as well.

Well done!

JFlegle says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Cool forest fire simulation.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:32am

A kind of confused (in terms of the theme), very simple god game.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:36am

A game where you are simultaneously the hero and the villain. It didn't fit into my browser window so I couldn't see the whole screen. Hope you keep working on this.

qwalyn says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:21am

Such an addictive little game. Think i could play it forever. Well done:)

har_g says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Awesome.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:05pm

289500 was my highest score. Very innovative idea. As I got what to do (let new plants grow while burning the old ones), it was fun to ensure that the fire doesn't extinguish. The difficulty rampage (I hope there is one ^^) is set properly. That big fire areas throw fire balls is a good and wise mechanic!

Add further gameplay (twists) and place it in a store for mobile games!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Good game, one issue though I was on my mac and using the right click to put out water was a little difficult. Other than that it was great!

Lythom says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:33am

I had some difficulties to understand the goal of the game (how to score ?), the tips on the bottom are not displayed long enough. I finally found a strategy, growing trees in circle around the island, the fire burning one side and me watering the other side and turning forever. At this point the game stoped to be challenging and fun because nothing would change as long as Im concentrated enough not to misslick fire instead of water >.>. The way to find this out however was fun !
graphics are ok, music end to be horrible to ear, concept is fine, realization is good (not bug appeared).
Thanks for the game !

Gornova says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Not sure about theme, but a good game! I like graphics, minimalistic but effective!

plus: I've checked your recorded stream, nice to see how ideas go on "paper" and become a gamge! well done!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Thanks Gornova!

WRT to theme: I pushed the limits of the theme a bit on purpose - I wanted to make a game where you had to be good (planting trees) and evil (burning trees); without being evil you'd die. You are forced to be villainous to survive.

There's some analogy in that to the modern meat industry (don't get me wrong, I love meat), but I thought going directly with something like that would be a bit too on the nose.

goerp says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Something different this.
I like the balance of the thing and how the Island looks.
I did find it a bit confusing in the beginning: I didn't see the water I placed because it was behind the green. After that it went Ok.
The music I li9ked as well.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:11am

Woah. The compo game is great. But the post-compo version is freaking AWESOME! Can't stop playing. Is there a way to stop the plague ?

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:04pm

@Pierrec - awesome! Glad you are enjoying it!

You stop the plague by starving it. Either surround it with rock or fire and it will starve out.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]