Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Reason for Vengeance

by Joseph Miller - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys to move, space to shoot a magic spell, enter to advance through dialogue/make menu choices.

There are a few unresolved bugs, due to social commitments that constrain me beyond the 48 hour time limit. You may occasionally need to hit ENTER twice in order to advance dialogue or a choice menu. Other than that there shouldn't be major issues. If there are, please let me know.

There are many ways to end the game, but for 100%ers there are 3 designer-directed endings. (As opposed to a player-directed ending, which is when you decide to stop playing of your own volition rather than because I send you back to the title screen.)

In order to see the truly villainous ending you will need to kill some innocents.

For me, this was about questioning what villainy really is. Does killing the people who killed your brother make you a villain? What about killing the people who were there to back them up? What about killing the others in their organization? What about killing a god? Where along that spectrum do you become a villain?

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#76Mood3.45
#259Overall3.18
#284Theme3.41
#351Graphics2.98
#367Fun2.84
#442Innovation2.68
#446Humor2.27
#465Audio2.10

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25am

pretty neat idea for a turret shooter. I like that it has a storyline.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Well written story, and nice use of choices.
The gameplay is maybe a bit repetitive for a full replay, just to see all the choices impact but excellent work on creating a unique world.

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Great graphics. And lots of content for 48 hours!

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36pm

awesome game better than mine.

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Very interesting. Choice is great, especially coming from a game that's been done in under 48 hours!

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Good job. The writing was really fun.

JoeCool17 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

I didn't think he was the villain in any part of this, but I loved the game anyway. Great storyline!

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

@JoeCool: I've added something to the notes to justify how this fits the theme.

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12am

a bit challenging, nice game

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Nice game. The decision really matters here.
Besides, I really feel guilty of shooting innocently unintentionally.

ahnt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44pm

really nice one, I love the innocence counter, what font was that, I liked that one alot

soupy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Erin Go Bragh is the game font.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:00pm

solid gameplay and a great style, like it :)

hnjslater says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:58am

Very good game

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:31am

Interesting. Nice graphics, good writing.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Nice storyline, cool idea asking the user if he wants to carry on.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Nice story, this game really fit the theme.

Replaying the game just to see all the endings was bit repetitive, but this was really well done shooter.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:11pm

very nice game :) i like different level settings
too much text though :)

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Yeah, relying too much on text is definitely one of my weak points as a designer.

someone says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:31pm

Good game.

Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:00am

I like the story line.

Maikeroppi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:35pm

I really liked your game, actually. A few notes.
-In general, I prefer minimal amounts of text in games, but your writing was actually well done.
-The game fits the theme really well, and I like that your character's motivations are understandable if not justifiable.
-The shooting gameplay worked pretty well. I especially liked having the villagers that you could try to avoid.
-A minor issue, it would be nice if the enemy projectiles were flushed from the screen. Once or twice, I died, revived, then immediately died again because of a leftover projectile.
-Not sure if it is because I put it in a background time or that it was my second time through, but it stopped working once after all the Guild wizards were defeated and I started my own Guild.
-The few choices were interesting, and since it was focused and compact, I actually played it a few times.

Nicely done!

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:38pm

@ Maikeroppi: Thanks for the detailed comments, they are really helpful.

Norgg says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Nice, liked the storyline here, becoming as powerful as you want to be, played through killing everything, and played through again stopping as soon as I could (although kind of sad that you're forced to kill the first demon), definitely felt that just quitting as early as possible was the "right" choice.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:04pm

@Norgg. Part of my original plan was to create a special scenario and mission for making the choice to give up right after your brother is murdered, where you serve Artheus and spread love magic instead of having to kill anyone, but didn't have time. Maybe in a post-compo version.

Husky says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:47am

Good job!
I like the story and choices :)

soy_yuma says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I liked the storyline and my ending! Nice graphics and simple but effective gameplay. But maybe a bit too repetitive to replay and find out the other endings.

kato9 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Mechanics are a bit simplistic, but a decent effort nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]