December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The goat that ate Christmas

by lando walters - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as Goat, who unsurprisingly is a goat. Goat is upset because no one ever gives him any gifts. He hatches a villainous plan to eat everyone's gifts, therefore ruining Christmas. The governmental hears of this dastardly plot, and sends in a veritable army of robots to stop him.
The game plays as a platform shooter. It is an arcade game, so there really is no way to win. Instead you can get the high score,which is then submitted. See your name at the top of that list (if your good).
The worlds that Goat plays in are generated, so you never play the same game twice.
I hope you enjoy your gift-eating-spree, and may you eat Christmas many times over (XD)

Note: The game does take a while to load. My apologies. The world generator could have used a few optimizations to make it go quicker, but I just didn't have time. I was also using an interpreted language (gml), so it wasn't at optimal speed. Once the game does load (which takes around 30 seconds to a minute) it should run at somewhere between 35-100 fps most of the time (the game updates 35 times a second, so you wont notice any slowdowns unless you go below 35 fps) The loading screen is static, so if it seems like its frozen, it likely is not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#247Fun3.08
#280Humor2.78
#397Overall2.92
#423Theme3.08
#425Audio2.21
#495Mood2.55
#553Innovation2.46
#658Graphics2.12

Comments

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

Some kind of progress indicator at the loading screen would be nice.

That GMechanism thing is interesting.

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

Having an online leaderboard is an excellent idea - now I kinda wish I'd implemented it in my game, but it didn't even occur to me.
The game takes a surprisingly long time to load on my PC for some reason, otherwise it's a fine shooter game.
I think the controls are a bit off, and the goat shouldn't have that much health because it can take an insane amount of punishment.

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Pretty fun, although I agree with h.attila

Joeslayer97 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Controls could do with some tweaking

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback. How do you think that the controls could have been tweaked? I might make a post jam version.
Oh, and all of you mac users out there, im working on a port to that platform :)

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13pm

h.attilla: I highly recommend the GMech API. I literally implemented it in like 30 mins :)
Plus, it lets me see how many plays I have. (currently I have like 20)

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04pm

note that it only works for GM or GM:S :P

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53pm

cool game, but too much things happening on the screen and this sounds making me crazy :)

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

lol, I used sfxr for the sounds, just to have sound in the game XD
I know its kinda annoying :P
thanks for the feedback :D

se1by says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:39am

The controls are a bit too fast, but it was pretty funny to play :D

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45am

Very nice! With the amount of robots wandering about, bullets flying and running speed, this is just total mayhem. And mayhem is fun. Loading time could definitely use some work, though. And personally I'd made it a bit harder - I think it would be even more enjoyable if a single playthrough was shorter, thus allowing to have more chances at the high score in the same amount of time.

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43am

@suve: I totally agree with everything you said, mayhem is fun. I also agree that I should have decreased the health, perhaps down to 200 instead of 500? I found a way to decrease the loading time by a few seconds, so if I make a post compo version expect to see all of these things, as well as tweaked controls. btw, nice job at getting the second highest score (the first one is from me testing, so I might delete that :P)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Nice job with the world generating !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

Nice concept and good work on the leaderboards. Unfortunately you level generator a made a hole that I was unable to get out of, in great part due to the goat being too fast :(

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:31am

Edocentrique: Thanks, glad you liked it :D

Amoaeba Junior: Yes, the world gen sometimes does this. I had no prior experience with prodecural generation, so I basically winged it. Thanks for the great feedback ;)

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:16am

Interesting idea. The robots would come in huge droves. I got stuck under the floor once! Oops!

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36am

Tyren: yeah, I was going to make something so that made sure that the blocks at the floor and walls didnt despawn, but I just didnt have time :P

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37am

but im glad you liked :D

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:09am

Love the high score thing! Really hectic, in a good way :)

The controls were a little frustrating: my goat would continue gliding for about a good while after releasing an arrow key, which made it really hard to get to some places.

Anyway: Yay, goats!

Amos Wenger says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:10am

Well, it was certainly interesting :)

The physics were a bit surprising tough, but interestingly it wasn't the jump that threw me off, but more the lack of velocity when moving right/left - it made it really difficult to make precise jumps.

Otherwise, procedural level generation worked pretty nicely, I didn't get stuck anywhere.

The sounds do get a bit annoying/oppressive after a while.

Otherwise, nicely done!

lando walters says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:00am

Dylan McCall: Thanks for the feedback, and glad you liked it. I currently have a post compo version in the works, with reworked controls and a optimized world gen!

Amos Wenger: Yes, the controls are a bit off :P
glad you still liked it :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:34pm

It's kinda hard to control your character and there are so many enemies that shot at them is not very effective...
I liked the concept and is fun to play too!

lando walters says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:32am

FrederickK: great, glad you liked it. really happy that people are giving me such constructive critisum too! I will work more on getting the controls just right next time (and likely less time sleeping XD)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Hi lando, here is my feedback:

- The highscore is a very neat idea :)
- Either the player has too much life or the enemies are too weak, but you should ensure that somewhere along the way the players will die. I killed myself by standing in front of robots to see, where I landed ca. on the highscore list.
- Optimize your world generating code. I got stuck in an area where I couldn't jump out anymore :)
- Additional, you should tweak your movement. It's okay, but doesn't feel perfect.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Cool game, I like the floaty jumping and the festive scenery. It had an odd bug on my pc where it wasn't clearing the previous frame.

lando walters says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Jeremias:
- I had some time at the end, and thought that it would be a good idea to add :D
- I know :P. I did this to myself last time I entered in a jam too :I
- good to know :). This has happened to a few people
- agreed. particularly in small passages

Patrick64: Glad you liked it. I think I know the source of the bug, and it should be fairly easy to fix it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]