December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hostile Nebula

by SkyWolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Sometimes you have to be your own hero", someone says.
In videogames, however, it's quite the opposite: usually you're the hero, but sometimes you just gotta be the bad guy.

Your mission is to stop the 'nth' space hero, by sending him the right troops at the right time.
Pick the troops with your keyboard and place them by clicking on the grid with your mouse. And that's it. Hope you like it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#81Innovation3.66
#137Overall3.43
#147Theme3.71
#169Audio3.00
#225Graphics3.31
#243Mood3.02
#310Fun2.94
#545Humor2.00

Comments

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Original !

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:06am

@Edocentrique many many thanks.

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

Very nice game. :-)

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19am

Great idea and very interesting gameplay!

Good work :D

madmaw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21am

Great work with the graphics and sound, looks very professional given the timeframe. Really amazing achievement

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27am

@Cy4n1d, @Lifrid, @madmaw thank you :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

Awesome idea. However, that hero seem too superior. Maybe I'm just not clever enough to discover the efficient of hitting him, but he keeps avoiding my "attacks". Stupid hero!!! ;)

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:36am

Really good game! Very polished!

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48am

Awesome idea! Needs a replay function! ;-)

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52am

The game looks quite nice and I really like the idea but has a number of flaws I think.

You really need some kind of introduction / tutorial explaining how everything works. I was expecting, when clicking on a grid, for the ships to appear exactly where I clicked so I could stage an attack better.

I would have also used number keys instead of letter for the hotkeys as they are more readable - the font you used is somewhat strange ^^

Not a bad game though at all!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56am

Wow that is really cool gameplay :o very different. I liked the song aswell even when the hero dodged your attacks everytime it was still fun and rewarding.

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

Awesome, re-read the instructions a few times before remembering I was the villain, hahaha.

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07am

@Starspell yeah, font was kind of randomly picked because it had a "spacey" look and it was under Open Font License, i could not afford to "waste" time in being picky :D thanks for the feedback.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

Pretty cool! Sometimes it's like too many buttons though :p

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15am

Very good game, well polished. I felt a bit too random when spawning my ships, but it was fun nevertheless

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

@Robotic I didn't find any randomness at all?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

mhhh very nice!

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:09pm

Good take on the theme. Fun game!

Freakill says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Really good and well planned! Game mechanics are fine tunned and enemy (or hero?) AI is really good for making it a nice challenge :) To make it more difficult I'd have done that money increased depending on attack performance ;)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

A bit clunky, but a cool idea. I wish I could have set up more of the typical enemy arrangements (like a row of enemies to all come out at the same time) instead of just basically random placement.

rujo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

great entry! very original and well made

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Cool, seeing quite a few of these. Great audio. As with most of these the "enemy" is OP. I'd have tried to make a gradual curve of dummies to intelligent.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Quite fresh and original gameplay with cool graphics.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04am

The controls take a minute to figure out, but once you do, you are rewarded with an interesting twist on the space shooter genre. Great fun and a good challenge!

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54am

nice job! the ship was good at dodging (maybe a little too good) and the music was very addictive. seriously, i really enjoyed that music.

Ardale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:56am

Gameplay is very original, and it's not easy to destroy the ship! Good Job!

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Very fun!
The difficult is just right, good job :)

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Fun gameplay and nice graphics, a good combo :)

haxpor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:54am

Nice execution! I see this kind of concept in Ludum Dare 2 times now, you're the 2nd one. Hero is good at dodging !!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Good job, especially on the UI. Also fits the theme like a glove.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:18am

Nice idea - the UI is a bit misleading (I thought the buttons would be clickable, too).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]