December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Vault

by zedutchgandalf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a thief who's robbing different banks.
Shoot the guards and try to steal the vault before the police show up.
But beware: what your character hasn't seen yet (look around with the mouse) won't be shown to you either!
And there's goats!
And a secret ending!

All controls explained ingame.
The levels go up to 11!
QWERTY AND AZERTY controls!

WARNING: Rather hard.

OS X and Linux Users: If the .jar-file does not play sounds, please open the terminal (terminal.app on Mac), cd to the download map and run "vault.run" (all from within the terminal).

19 Dec: I found what was causing so many people to crash: a simple ****ing typo inside one of the exception handlers. I haven't been able to reproduce the crash after changing it, so I assume it has been fixed. According to the Ludum Dare rules, I can fix this kind of thing and re-upload the fixed version.

- Robin Arys
(@zedutchgandalf)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#290Innovation3.03
#326Theme3.29
#353Overall3.00
#368Humor2.52
#459Fun2.65
#539Audio1.67
#572Mood2.38
#580Graphics2.35

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:14am

Nice one. I really liked the intro tutorial. The only con I see is the need of looking around for seeing the walls.I know that in real life is like that, though ;)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

"Congratulations: you have died". I rated 5 on humour for that alone.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25am

Handy to note that clicking outside the "Congrats you died" box will restart the level.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26am

Good tutorial! Very challanging which is fun! but maybe a bit too hard :S Was hard to aim since everything was so small, and the player moved too quickly and got stuck, so it was hard to navigate through tight spots.. and often got shot from bullets which I hadn't seen yet.. Overall very fun! Would be great with some audio.. got to level 7 and got a crash :S Nice work! :)

J says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50am

Nice idea; looking around to see the level is really interesting, if a little hard to get used to. I feel like it wants to be a stealth game, where you take your time, but then you have the 20s timer, which destroys that idea and just confuses me.

Some notes:

- The text at the top isn't in the style of the rest of it, which means I didn't even notice it for a few minutes.
- As mentioned previously, it's not obvious that clicking outside the 'Exit' button restarts the level. Also, the button appears instantly, so you can accidentally click it if you're shooting at that moment.
- I keep pressing space to continue to the next level for some reason - maybe make it an alias?
- I got a crash every now and then (when shooting a guy, I think):

Exception in thread "Main" java.util.ConcurrentModificationException
at java.util.ArrayList$Itr.checkForComodification(ArrayList.java:819)
at java.util.ArrayList$Itr.next(ArrayList.java:791)
at be.zedutchgandalf.ld48.Bullet.update(Bullet.java:21)
at be.zedutchgandalf.ld48.Entity.updateEntities(Entity.java:99)
at be.zedutchgandalf.ld48.Main.run(Main.java:122)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)

- I couldn't work out what to do in the level where you start in a small room at the bottom-left. Neither that nor the next room with a guard seem to have any breakable walls.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

J, care to contact me?
Twitter: @zedutchgandalf or Email: contact@zedutchgandalf.be
I'd like to ask you a few questions :)

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Fun, but it crashed after the first guard saw me...

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Nice concept and technically the gameplay seem very impressive but I didn't know how to beat the first level beat the first level.

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:20pm

I liked the concept but it didn't seem to draw properly for me - i couldn't see the guard in level two until after he had killed me and then i was clicking so much it restarted the level. Nice game tho.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Audio didn't work on my system and performance was very bad, but seems cool.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I'm sorry for everyone having performance issues... I made this on my 8Gb RAM machine and made sure it worked smoothly with that. There wasn't any time left to increase performance for lower end computers...

Gazok says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Really innovative. Nice!

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:01am

Full marks for innovation & good job on the tutorial.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]