December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The villain's dream

by zerebruin - Jam Entry

The villain's dream places the player in the role of a villain deep asleep. He dreams of suddenly having a conscience, then shifts from that nightmare into a nicer kind of dream where...oh let's not reveal too much.

Note on bugs: the dialogue section is pretty buggy. If no answer option appears, just press space.

Note 1: This game is not 100 % finished. (It's not even 80% finished but hey...)
Note 2: There are more kittens than bugs
Note 3: There is 1 goat. You will find it if you're good enough.
Note 4: I haven't tested Mac or Linux versions, will try to do that tomorrow.

Made with Unity3D 4.0 / Unityscript
Music from free midi files / made with inudge.net
Sound by meeeow
Artwork drawn in Photoshop
Fonts: Norican / Text Me One from Google fonts
External Script resources : 1 (http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php/Xbox360Controller) which isn't active in the release version :/

Have Fun

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Humor(Jam)2.68
#235Audio(Jam)2.13
#246Graphics(Jam)2.63
#259Theme(Jam)2.68
#260Mood(Jam)2.40
#271Innovation(Jam)2.32
#300Overall(Jam)2.32
#303Fun(Jam)2.00
#912Coolness35%

Comments

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

Interesting game, although I'm not sure why it goes for so long... 300s seems way too long. Judging by the screen shots the bullet section is all that's in the game so I don't think I'm missing anything by leaving early.

But yeah I'm kinda just like whaaaat...

zerebruin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48am

Oops yeah, I guess that's one zero too many^_^

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

Nice job on the artwork, the game was fun as well (albeit a bit slow). Nice job!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:00am

Some great villainous dialogue at the beginning, and the gameplay wasn't bad it just needs to be much shorter.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04am

This game was brilliant. I could not stop laughing... Went on a bit too long but hey still LOOOVED it.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

Nice game, but a bit slow and you don't get a lot of feedback. Also: it seems you fire the WHOLE bullet. That's 65% more bullet, per bullet.

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55am

Could be a bit shorter but its pretty fun being a bullet.

zerebruin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Hey everyone, thanks for playing the game!
I will do a game update after Christmas when I've got more time and try to incorporate your critique.
@CireNeikual: getting 65% more is good, right? :D I know that the shell should't be flying, but it's just easier recognizable that way...and remember, it's a dream.

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:36am

Lots of kitty killing games this LD T__T
Nice game!

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:37am

Really funny to hear the kitten's meaow. On the other hand, you give me an idea for another LD game: you're the first nuclear bomb that has dropped from the Enola Gay.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:00am

Interesting concept, but goes on *forever*, with very little feedback when you hit a target, no indication which targets you should be aiming for, and the static camera makes it almost impossible to aim yourself. The framing dialogue is intriguing but not enough of a hook to wait for 5 minutes, sorry!

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Goes on for too long but the dialogue section is great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]