December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Ride Away!

by Kotucz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not your first nor your last bank job. Your greatest hobby is smashing goats with a car.
Press a key to start Ride Away!

If system launcher fails please try following command:
java -jar RideAway1.0.jar


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#58Fun3.59
#164Humor3.13
#276Overall3.15
#321Mood2.87
#338Theme3.27
#423Graphics2.80
#447Audio2.17
#561Innovation2.44

Comments

AdricZero says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Great little game. My only suggestion is have the goats start appearing a little sooner in the game.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Not bad, the art is a bit unclean and the game didn't reset properly. Other than that pretty good.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25pm

Can't remember how far I managed to get, but I got a score of 57k. Overall this is a fun little game. It gets really hectic later on which is good, since people can't complain about the challenge. Shame about the lack of music but overall, it's fun!

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Classic, well done.

I have the same feeling about the goats, when going fast, sometimes, they haven't even entered the road when you pass trough.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Really loved the art style of the game. It's fun to play, the increase of speed over time really does wonders, making the game more and more exciting.

Great job.

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:13pm

very fun to play.

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Faster faster at the start!
Would have been good to have other ways to get bonus points other then killing goats. Liked the road mechanic and the changes in scenery.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:41pm

its like if the guy who made enviro-bear made an endless runner game. good stuff, pretty addictive!

kannas says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:55pm

i got a great time hitting goats. really a good game! my only complain is that at high velocity i feel pain to my ayes >_<

marudziik says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:42am

At high velocity it's really hard to control the car, but the game is actually quite fun and I liked it. I also liked how the car sprite changes angle when pushing up/down, and that the wheels are staying in the same position when it does that. Little things, but I can appreciate them. The intro animation is also a nice thing to see. Quite well done - played so much that now my eyes kinda hurt. :P

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:39am

Nice game. Love killing goats!

GIB3D says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:43am

Distance: 5402
Goats: 14
Score: 81030

Fits the theme! Also, when it gets faster you should focus on the foreground rather than the background. It helps a lot.

Retrac says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Simple, fun, and could get pretty chaotic at high speeds. Those goats hated me, they loved spawning and staying on the side of the road, just outside of my reach. I think other objectives or objects which were detrimental to your score and not the player's health would be great additions. Great game regardless.

Congratulations and good luck in the future!

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:07pm

I played like an old school retro kind of game.
Funny looking villain.
It could use some more goats to distract me more from driving.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:33am

This was a pretty fun little game. I had trouble avoiding the cars, so being able to move horizontally would have been useful- or even better yet, a way to send small cars flying off into bigger ones!

By the way, if you're looking for a more Java-centric host, you might check out the free Java hosing I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]