December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Knight Wrecker

by methozoid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!!IMPORTANT!!!
If you start the game, and you found yourself dropping thru the floor, just reload the game.
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Watch out for tomorrow's portmortem!

This was my first LD, and I really enjoyed it. I hope you like my game, as this is my first completed game. The feeling when you are playing with your complete game is invalueable. Looking forward to the next Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#335Fun2.89
#421Audio2.22
#510Theme2.89
#525Graphics2.53
#542Overall2.68
#580Mood2.36
#587Humor1.92
#614Innovation2.32
#884Coolness37%

Comments

Marco Jonkers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Hmm, I got a security warning (that's not good). You should be able to create a game in Slick without getting that.

Spamming your first two abilities seems to be the winning strategy. I died around wave 20. Radiance should have more than one charge (so you can collect them before you use them) In the later wave you take damage incredibly fast. Some kind of invulnerability period would be nice.
It would have been nice to see an icon on the screen to see if Radiance is ready. The text goes away too fast and it often overlaps with other text messages.

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Pretty decent, I thought! Not groundbreaking, but simple, clean, and fun. I enjoyed it :)

methozoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

thanks for the comments! :) after the judging, I'll put up an 1.1 version of the game

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Gameplay was rather pain and repetitive but the concept isn't bad.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Congrats on finishing your first LD! I enjoyed your game, and the progression in difficulty seemed reasonable. :) My right hand feels cramped from hammering the keys mind. :P

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Simple and fun, I enjoyed it. Kinda wish the jump was higher though.

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:04pm

I would have liked for abilities to continue to fire while holding a key down. And like Marco said, an icon for Radiance would be helpful, since I was constantly checking to see if I had it or not. Also, maybe have a screen at the end tell you what wave you got to and your score. Overall though, a neat game with nice graphics and a cool concept. Was fun to play, and I got to wave 18 I think.

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

If it wasn't so repetitive it'd be awesome

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Wow that's difficult game, nice! More traditional 3 button shooter controls would be Arrow Keys + Z, X, C

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Too much repetitive but the idea is not bad :-)

Loren says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:23am

Nice idea, would like to see it developed more :)

methozoid says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:39pm

sure thing, a new updated version will be linked on this page, or be sure to check out my twitter for updates (@robee00)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:07am

Hmm... I'm just getting a white screen where the app should be.

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Hi, I liked the idea (gameplay a lot like my entry) it was fun and the aoe skills were fine! Radiance could be a bit stronger maybe :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]