Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Escape - voidstar69 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A dungeon crawler game with no artwork, sound effects or music, but lots of ray-casting, lighting, visibility and collision detection.

In other words, programmer heaven combined with programmer art!

There are 13 levels in total, and some of them are fiendishly difficult. Each level also adds to the story line.

Note that you need to have Microsoft Silverlight 4 or newer installed. This game works on Windows and Mac OS X. It does not work on Linux (the port of Silverlight to Linux, called Moonlight, only supports Silverlight 2).

View voidstar69's journal. | View all entries by voidstar69

Ratings

#245Mood3.00
#310Overall3.09
#319Fun2.92
#410Innovation2.75
#446Graphics2.75
#586Humor1.93
#742Coolness46%
#753Theme1.68

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

I like it. The controls (with the mouse) works really well, feels so fluid. Good job!

glbs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Nice! i liked the caged-in escape. I also made a maze game and you actually created some of the suff i'd have liked.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Very nice, a lot of interesting levels.

Nutter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Looks like there's no end-game? At "no where left to run" and there's nothing there to find.

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06am

Nutter you are correct, I was running out of time and it was quicker and easier to add a 'dead end' level rather than a proper ending screen or animation. The geometry of the last level provides a clue to this...

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

With adding sounds and music the immersion would be much greater. Nicce to see a Silverlight game here.

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Great atmosphere, but the whole enemy system felt a bit broken. Was very easy to just get around everything. The end was also a bit abrupt, too. Overall though, it was pretty good.

~Spaceoff

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08pm

really like the style and overall atmosphere

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:27pm

SiENcE, I agree. Before the compo started I practiced loading images and sounds, and displaying and playing them. I intended to have bitmaps and sound, but ended up spending a lot of time on the technical aspects. Not that I can draw or compose music - I'll need to try out a generator next time for bitmaps, sounds and music.

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Maple, I originally dreamed of implementing something like the A* algorithm for enemy path-finding, or flood-filling the maze from the player's position so that the enemies could easily find the shortest path to the player. But I never got around to writing any of these. Maybe next time.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:04am

I like the stealth aspect to it. Great entry!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:44am

Hi I want to pay back but sorry I can't install Silverlight here (linux Mint) :(

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:43pm

Sorry about that @Drabiter - I thought that Silverlight did support Linux. After a bit of research I can now see that the port of Silverlight to Linux (called Moonlight) only got as far as supporting Silverlight 2, and the whole Moonlight project was abandoned in late 2011.

Are you able to install some version of Moonlight on Linux Mint? If so then I can probably port my game to Silverlight 1 or 2 (after all I only use coloured rectangles and text), and then it might work on Linux with Moonlight.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Simple gameplay, but your engine run very well. As a result the game is very pleasant to play. your little sentence at each level really help to set the mood.

Jack says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:15am

Lighting engine was a little dodgy and there was nothing really saying that you were the bad guy. S'pose that's the trouble making a stealth game for this theme (I did the same and had to tack on something to the endgame to differentiate it from a game where you escape prison but you're not an antihero)

GIB3D says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:36am

Neat game but like it has been said already, it doesn't really fit the theme. Also, I figured out what you were supposed to see in the end. I won't spoil it though.

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:57pm

@Jack @GIB3D I came up with this game concept a while before the theme was announced, and then had difficulty fitting it to the theme. The closest I got was to state that the character is "considered a criminal" (see screenshot above). This didn't really fit my concept of having a defenceless character with no way to attack the enemy. I made the decision early on to use only mouse movement and no buttons, to make a simpler and more accessible game.

chambers says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:15pm

I was expecting some kind of plot twist that would give the story some sense - or explain why the game fits the theme "you are the villain", but nothing happened at the end.

I like the fog of war mechanic though, exploring the dark environments was fun.

Jacic says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:11am

Very nice, and slightly difficult!

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

Enjoyed the game and the lighting. Comments along the side were helpful in giving the guidance to the game-play. Biggest surprise was when an enemy was the color was the same as the exit.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:57am

I like your graphic style here. I felt like the enemies patterns were a bit difficult to learn though, because of how seldom you see them.

The end screen was clever. :)

I liked the running narrative along the side, as well.

I didn't see the connection with the theme, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]