About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 23 hours, 53 minutes, 25 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 0 hours, 5 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 0 hours, 53 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    HeroDontSavePrincess - pvp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    My first ludum game :).

    Goal:
    You must kill the Hero by putting box at the right place.
    When the Hero loose all of his life you win but if the Hero reach the castle gate you loose.

    Programme used:
    Game maker 8.1
    Paint.net
    sfxr

    Note: Use space bar to change the scaling.

    Oh and take a look at those screen for a free box spot. =)

    View pvp's journal. | View all entries by pvp

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #240Innovation3.13
    #365Theme3.21
    #374Graphics2.92
    #413Audio2.25
    #446Humor2.27
    #523Mood2.48
    #542Overall2.68
    #560Fun2.42

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    It's cute but i can't stop the hero !

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Nice idea, rather difficult to play. Can find maybe 4 good places for the box and 1 miss and it resets.

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Nice Idea. It's hard to master. You should make a clue where to place the first box. I tried several times until i found out that the hero only collides with the head.

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    Alright, I must say this one was pretty cool. First of all, I really love the graphical vibe you give off with this one, all the graphics fit together really nice. The concept you picked is also really different, I haven't seen it before (well, except in my game...now that I think about it, thats probably why I like it so much...). The 8-bit sound effects fit in wonderfully, not one of the sounds sound off. There are two complaints I have though. First, the theme is a bit cliched, you know, a knight trying to save a princess, but it doesn't ruin the game or anything, so its okay. Second, however, is the difficulty, there's only a few good spots to place the block, and you can't place more than one per hero life. This makes it really challenging to experiment, as it only takes one wrong placement to lose the game and start all over. All in all, its a great game, but if you continue it, I suggest that you make it a bit easier.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    I have no idea of what im doing. haha. Was able to throw him into the first pit...about the goat, i have no clue, kind of frustrating. Love the +1! Nice graphics :)

    pvp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    Thanks for you feedback guys :) its really cool.

    Ye, the game is kinda hard :p at first. Look at the screen for a new place Maybe you dont know this one ;). With more time (I only had a few hours to work on it do to IRL), I would have add: title screen, more way to kill the hero and a small tutorial. Anyway its was my first ludum dare and its amazing experience!

    chocobyte says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:04pm

    Very cool game!

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    An original game idea that matches the theme. Graphics and audio fit nicely. A fitting music would've been good, though, even if it was made with autotracker. But, as everyone else have already said, it's extremely hard and I had to give up before succeeding. Still, it's cool!

    Frolacosta says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Reminds me of the good old days where you had to play the same level hundreds of times to complete it! Well done!

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Like it. Pretty challenging.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    Can't play windows games. :-(

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    Got about four boxes down before giving up, hehe. Great concept. :)

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51pm

    So haaard! Super cute!

    zompi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    I spent some time to figure out how to kill this bastard. But after that the game was fun :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    fantastic idea! love this game!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    Nice concept but the gameplay is a bit obscure.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46am

    Really nice game. The graphics area really cool, they look precious. The sound is also good. The gameplay is hard, after some iterations you get where to put the boxes :) The only thing I would criticise is that when you fail, you have to wait for the knight to arrive, so you are willing to test again where to put the box but just can wait :) Cool game :D

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    i agree with zenmumbler. i can't even get him killed on the monster, no matter where i place the block.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:07am

    The presentation is fine, but I found the game really frustrating as I had no idea where to place the box 10 times.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:25am

    I really liked the idea, but it seems too restrictive, and the hero can rejump too soon - I can barely get two kills per pit. Graphics were simple, but really nice. Nicely done!

    metadept says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:20am

    Good job for a first-time entry! It was a little unclear what effect the box has on the hero, and as others have said, you run out of good spots quickly. The graphics fit together really well, and the simplicity is perfect for LD. Can't wait to see what you come up with next time!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    Managed to get up to 8 kills but I seriously can't seem to get any more. 4 per pit. I'm assuming we can't get kills from the goat? Love the style but yeah it needs some balancing. Consider a simple first level with only 1 kill required. Then 2. Then 3. Etc. Slowly introduce the ways to kill the knight to the player. The skill shouldn't be figuring out exactly how you CAN place them, but placing them correctly fast enough. Great idea, though!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    That was cool ! Hard to master but really nice and challenging gameplay, i liked it :D

    Faust says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Interesting idea, but I think you should mention that the player can only place 1 box per hero, I spent some time to figure out it's the spec not bug.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:52am

    Aww so cute! Lovely first entry!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    Neat idea. Cool graphics. Couldn't figure out the best placement and got stuck. Would love to see better pacing. Looks like there is a bug if you are zoomed in and then click to restart, the graphics scale down, but the window doesn't.

    Logun says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Very cool. I loved to search new way to kill those lil' knights !

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]