December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Purple Fingers

by heloheu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Special thanks to Fabio Picchi (<3), Lucas Senna (happy birthday!) and Pedro Camara (my cellmate, also, see his entry: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=11981).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#55Theme3.97
#80Graphics3.87
#88Innovation3.63
#128Humor3.26
#133Overall3.44
#183Mood3.15
#210Fun3.16
#338Audio2.50

Comments

metadept says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49am

Nice concept! Fits the theme perfectly and made for a pretty fun game. I like the graphical style a lot, too. My only suggestions are that the curse should spread a bit faster (since the real challenge is in planting it on hard-to-reach areas), and the enemy behaviors should be a little more consistent/predictable (but not necessarily simple!).

chambers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

Cutest degradation of the world ever!

rinaka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

This game hooked my mind as I played it and lots of thoughts came by. The idea of the corruption spreading is nice. I wish the other denizens would notice the corruption and make sad remarks about it, just so I'd feel more guilty about it.

The graphics and animations are lovely. I wish the wilted flower from the scene transitions was used in the levels too, as the terrain gets corrupted.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:55pm

Good concept!

Floko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

I loved this game! it`s cute, and the concept is pretty interesting. After some adjustments in enemy`s AI and some different challenges, this could turn out to be very, very addicting !

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07am

Best game to play so far ... Cute Character! I loved the wee sound!

KingSavate says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53am

Nice concept and artwork, i like the characters. I just find the moves to be very slow but it might be my old computer running low. Good job :)

Tavrox says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31pm

Cool concept of spreading bad seeds in the ground. I liked the intro too. I had the game laggy and the gameplay was not enough worked for me :/

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Cool concept. Really nice intro.

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Nice artwork! :)

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00pm

This is really good, a high rating in Theme from me.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

I'm sorry for the lag, I'm not a very skilled programmer >.< But I'm working on a post-jam release without lag and with some stuff I didn't have time to add!

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55pm

I like the idea, but the game is a bit slow. I think the creep should expand either super fast or instantly, since I spent most of the time just waiting.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39pm

This was actually a really fun game. Could definitely see it made into a full ios game or something like that. Excellent job!

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50am

Funny game, cute graphics.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:52am

Yay! The world is purple. Similar idea to my Make It Black but completely different context and implementation. The little devil/cat creatures are cute and the sounds are too. Cool!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45am

Cool! Graphics were really cute. I feel like it has a lot of potential, like, you could have different powders that spread in different ways with different effects. My only complaint is that the randomness of the enemies meant that winning or losing felt somewhat arbitrary.

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:23am

Really fun and simple gameplay, i loved the art for this game, good job! :D

Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:46am

Neat concept and cute setting/art. I found avoiding the guys to not be a lot of fun. Should have some safe zone where you get away from being seen, or have then turn over time, so you get a warning when to stop vs it being instant. You can fix that in polish though. It's a sound idea and fun to run around, just needs to be more forgiving in the "see you" area. it also bogged my iMac down to nothing a couple of times. Something going on.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Good concept. I found it hard to figure out the strategy to not be seen and how I would actually be able to get where the other guy was because he just stood at the end of the screen. But overall, I think it was very interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]