December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Doc's Heist Starring Snuggles the Cat

by hints - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Doc's Great Heist: Starring Snuggles the Cat

Play as Doc and Snuggles, his pet cat, to steal all the gold on each level. Gameplay involves utilizing all of Doc's tools and Snuggle's ability to reach high places. Move crates, pull switches, freeze unsuspecting civilians, teleport around, and most of all steal gold.

The compo version features 6 levels, and takes about 15-20 minutes to complete.

WASD to move; Space to interact with objects; 1 2 and 3 switch gadgets; and the mouse is used for Doc's tools. Pressing Z will toggle control between Doc and Snuggles.

To run the LOVE version, you have to install the LOVE framework, linked below.

To run on Linux or Mac, you will need to install the LOVE framework, and use the LOVE distribution.

Powered by the LOVE framework: http://love2d.org/

Created for Ludum Dare 25: You Are The Villain
http://www.ludumdare.com

Libraries:
Zoetrope: http://libzoetrope.org/
TESound: https://love2d.org/wiki/TEsound

Tools used for development of code and assets:
GIMP: http://www.gimp.org/
LMMS: http://lmms.sourceforge.net/
Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
sfxr: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html
Tiled: http://www.mapeditor.org/
Programmer's Notepad: http://www.pnotepad.org/

Thanks to my friends for keeping me honest and motivated.
A very special thanks to the viewers on my livestream cheering me on and their support throughout the weekend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#101Overall3.53
#169Fun3.26
#188Audio2.96
#257Humor2.86
#272Innovation3.07
#383Graphics2.90
#398Mood2.71
#450Theme3.00

Comments

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:19am

Got some feedback that the controls are a bit confusing. Here's a bit more in depth explanation:

a/d to move left/right
w to jump
z to switch between Doc and Cat

Space bar to interact with signs and levers and vaults.

Gadget 1 is hands: click on boxes to pick them up. You have to be close to them. Click again to drop it.
Gadget 2 is freeze ray: Hit people to freeze them in place.
Gadget 3 is portals: Left click is exit, Right click is entrance.

leothecool says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:16am

Be careful not to get the doctor trapped in level 2!

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22am

switching led to some interesting puzzle solving. Only one of them has to reach the door though in order to get through, so that felt a bit weird. some of the people look zombie-ish?

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23am

I didn't even realize that was possible, I tried to avoid getting letting you get stuck until level 4.

I forgot to mention there is a pause menu, by pressing Escape. You can restart the level or return to the main menu for Level Select from there.

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26am

Yes, just Doc has to get to the vaults, cats can't open doors.

And yes, some of the guys are zombies -- a representation of how I felt when I was making those sprites.

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29am

Controls stutter a bit, but otherwise a charming and fun game. Nice switching mechanic!

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

Wow, there's, uh, a lot going on in this game. There were lots of buttons, and I feel like I was going all over the keyboard and mouse buttons to do stuff. Music was good for the first few minutes, but it got really repetitive toward the end of the game. I'm looking forward to the next version!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

Had a nice feel to it. Transporters pissed me off so much - kept mixing up the left/right click red/green. Cat was fun to control.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15am

I liked it! Reminded me of the Lost Vikings. It didn't take long for me to get a hang of the controls and I liked how far you took the core mechanic.

However, I tried putting both portals on top of each other and I ended up hearing a terrible noise. Maybe make a check to see if the other portal isn't right on top of it and deny deployment?

Otherwise, I found it very enjoyable!

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

I like this game. There's a lot of content. The levels are interesting along with the different items.

Good job

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50am

There's too much going on with the controls, they aren't smooth. E.g. hitting space to close the textbox i just opened with space would make so much more sense.

I don't feel the evil rising in me, maybe it's the lack of display of the gold I've stolen so far, or the lack of any sign of danger. how about police cars arriving outside after a while, making their way through and hunting me. just 1 * for the theme. The puzzles though are great fun.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02am

I think I got the doctor trapped...if that's the idea of the game, then that's ingenious! Never would I have expected the cat as the double-crossing villain!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:51pm

An interesting approach :) Fun game.

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56pm

i really liked this one, the concept is great,but is a bit buggy. Luck with the compo

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Seems to be using WASD without keysym conversion, so even when I tell my OS to temporarily switch my keyoard layout to QWERTY is still acts as though it is Dvorak. Makes gameplay basically impossible for me.

Maybe support arrow keys?

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Also, as I walk I fall through the floor and can't get back up? Seems like a bug.

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Very nice game! Had fun

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Excellent game, with stellar level design. A little rough around the edges, but such is the norm.

hints says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37pm

Sing: I'm sorry to hear about your input trouble, I hadn't thought about alternate keyboard layouts -- next time I will!

Where are you falling through the floor? There are issues with doors closing on you and pushing you out of the level, but other than that I never encountered it.


Thanks to everyone for your kind words

jujule says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:15am

This looked really interesting and fun but there were to many unpredictable collision bugs : the cat or the scientist suddenly teleports outside of the map making it impossible to complet the level. I couldn't go further than level 2 after 5 or 6 tries. Frustrating. I'd love to play a fixed version though.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Extremely clever and competent puzzle platformer.

blob says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Lots of content for a 48h game !

mkpictures says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Fun game, I liked it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]