December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Filthy Coward

by mamoniem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The about a filthy coward guy in the street. Hey try to bother people by his vulgar behavior. We can see all that from street security screen;

You can control the player (arrows or WSAD ), you can use both (Z and X ) to make your actions. Bother lots of people & fill your rude counter as fast as possible before cops catch you.

Enjoy 10 levels getting harder and full of excitement and funny situations;

To be able to finish the game before time, i didn't implement the achievement system which i started working on . It is pretty funny ho have an achievement called "The Golden Asshole" or "Master of Psycho" :)

Sound track by : DanJRio, from the blog :
free-soundtrack.blogspot.com/

If you like the game you can enjoy all my games, currently i publish new free game each 10 days in my site here :
http://10daysgame.wordpress.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#160Audio3.04
#164Graphics3.52
#222Humor2.96
#284Theme3.41
#394Mood2.72
#468Innovation2.64
#523Overall2.71
#626Fun2.23

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:03am

Fun game :P

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08am

Art style is awsome and soo polished, woudl have liked an animation for just pressing the buttons when noone was there though

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25am

Like the art on this one. First few levels should probably be shorter and easier to pass, or harder. It ramps up a tad slow. By level 4 I was tired of waiting for spawns and hadn't really had to avoid cops much. Could be a neat idea with more animations and things to do. Could go the direction of GTA where you see how crazy you can get and how many stars and cops chasing you before caught. Add items/weapons and a way to attack police :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Nice job! Would have been cool if "pants"ing someone would cause them to knock over a police officer for extra rude points...

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43pm

Nice game!
The first level was a bit slow though (not much people on the scren)

PaulSB says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:48pm

That guy is way efficient at removing clothes... Solid, entertaining entry that looks nice. Gets repetitive eventually but what can you do.

Just a note: the compo would require you to do the music yourself rather than lift it from someone else. So I've basically ignored the music in my appraisal.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:16am

I just spammed the Z key and got through the levels quickly. Hit the cops didn't do much except reset the spawns but I kept my score. I like the art but the game gets real repetitive. Good job overall though.

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Funny audio and Idea! I missed a bit of action when pressing the button. The first level had passages of 10 seconds or so just standing around, which was a bit boring. Could have been a bit harder at the start :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Your download doesn't seem to be working for me.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Game seemed pretty simple and a bit slow - would have liked more chaos quicker. Very nice art and style.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:51pm

hmmmm the game is kinda full of bugs. You have two possible "attacks" - one of them causes the NPC to walk backwards, the other to run forward. If you stand behind an NPC and mash the "walk backwards" button, you can easily accumulate enough points to go to the next level. You can probably fix this by limiting the interaction to 1 per NPC.

Also the policemen are laughably easy to avoid, maybe they should walk towards the player if they see the player causing trouble?

Finally, you cannot include music created by other people in your 48 hour compo, even if the music is free to use. The only acceptable assets are fonts and sound samples :-)

Cheers, and good luck next LD!

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:55am

Took me a while to realize the cops were saying 'got you' instead of 'achoo'

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:06am

Sometimes there is nobody on the screen and it would be cool to have an animation for pressing the action keys when alone.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I ignored the audio rating, too.

Here is my feedback:
- Sometimes I spawn in policemen
- You can ran into a guy and spam X. It just takes 1 or 2 people and some seconds to reach the current goal.
- It's too easy to avoid policemen
- Funny game idea :D

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Interesting stuff. The animation needs some fixing (my character would often just slide) and I suggest further tweaking, especially animation and the frequency with which people appear. There were a couple of times when there wasn't much to do.

Really like the art style and the sound. Fun game overall!

kato9 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:32pm

err what

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]