Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

President VS Eevol - SunShiranui - Jam Entry

Welcome to President VS Eevol!

This is a simple stealth game made by the OmniaRing Team. You are the evil Eevol, and your mission is to kill the President of Goodland in his home in order to retrieve a precious goat.
However, your evil and dangerous antics will be opposed by the President's guard robots. Be stealthy and all will be well. Get hit three times and you must restart the level!

Get the key to unlock the door to the next level.

CONTROLS:

WASD - Movement
K - Drop bomb, activate bomb
L - Dash

Thanks for playing!

Contact @SunShiranui on twitter - http://twitter.com/SunShiranui

View SunShiranui's journal. | View all entries by SunShiranui

Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Mood(Jam)3.24
#101Audio(Jam)3.20
#120Theme(Jam)3.50
#140Fun(Jam)2.94
#145Humor(Jam)2.68
#149Overall(Jam)3.06
#167Graphics(Jam)3.20
#239Innovation(Jam)2.54

Comments

Kuothe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

It's too hard to be stealthy :(

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:43am

What exactly are the guards supposed to be? They make the Secret Service look like wimps :)

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:48am

I suggest trying to see the enemies' movement patterns from a distance and then use the dash to sneak through. :) Thanks for your feedback!

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49am

Will: The guards are robots! :P We actually decided to make them like that to avoid having to animate the legs, since we didn't have much time left. :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

It was enjoyable, how did your goat survive the explosion?

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:56am

You know, we were wondering the same. I guess the goat is just cool like that.
We hoped to do a cutscene at the end, but didn't have time. :P

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02pm

I love the sneaky tippy-toe animation. I wish the dash lasted for longer.

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Awesome game! Very fun, good work! :)

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Solid entry! The goat at the end was rapidly flipping around, I assume this is a glitch.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Yeah, the boss battle is a bit unpolished, since we completed that near the end of the deadline.

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56pm

like the game thanks

Floko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:03pm

I like the way he walks , haha x)

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Ha, so this is the place where presidents reside! Nicely done, I had a similar concept, but it didn't work out quite as full featured as this.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:19am

One word comes to mind: Dastardly. The character is sneaking continuously in his 70s cartoon suit and evil hooked moustache. Well executed. Took me a bit to figure out how to use the teacup bombs (nice touch again) What on earth are those hovering spectre-killers? Cool!

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Superb game. I love the music and graphics, in particular the evil laugh you do every once in a while. The guards are kind of weird tho. Overall, really fun though the boss was a little easy and bugged out at the end.

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Nice entry. I would vote for a shorter timer on the coffee bombs.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:01pm

What do you mean exactly? Bombs are not timed, they explode when you press the K button again. :)

Yapikom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Decent atmosphere, but the controls felt slow and wonky. I don't know if it's just my computer though so I'll try again tomorrow. The white page contrasted too much, so I had to change it to black to not kill my eyes.
The graphic looked good but a little incoherent. Nice music.
The bossfight was... wierd.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Just fixed the embed page to display a black background. Thanks for the feedback!

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Great job with graphics and sound. I realy like main character animation and music is very moody.

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:46pm

I like the music and ambient!
Good job :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:22pm

The controls are kind of clunky and the guards notice you even if you're behind them, which makes stealth difficult.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:19pm

The dash bugs sometimes, but it's a good game, fun and well balanced. good job!

Logun says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:38pm

And I though I produced a scary animation, it is nothing versus those ones !

Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Fun sneaking-animation! Also nice work with light and the music.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:36pm

I like the sneak animation :D

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:37pm

The stealth part of the game worked. Was a bit too easy. The boss fight was somehow strange, because he ran into walls or started to turn rapidly on one spot.

Sometimes the dash action is buggy. E.g. if I press the key multiple times with short pauses, nothing happens.

SunShiranui says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:11pm

We don't have a HUD so it's not clear, but the dash is limited, so you need to wait a bit before using it again.
Thanks for playing!

amassingham says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Love that sneaking animation!

lotusgame says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:08am

Seems nice but sorry i can't play with WASD keys. I have an azerty keyboards. Think of arrows to control a character ;)

SunShiranui says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:05pm

We are very sorry about that. We'll take that in mind in the future :)

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:20am

Generic gameplay, but nice polish.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:36am

Yes! Killed the President and saved the goat! Well done - this was fun!

Prelucid says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:02am

My nephew and I enjoyed this. He really liked the sound effects.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:17am

I really like the player's animation. It gives that cheesy villain personality, in a humorous way! :) A bit in the difficult side. The voice-over and sounds are great though!

AdricZero says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great game. Loved the graphics. Music was good for setting the mood but a little too repetitive. At the end I could not tell if it just kept repeating or not after I bombed the guy on the goat. It just kept repeating after that.

SunShiranui says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:05pm

To AdricZero:
The ending was a bit rushed, I didn't know anything about it until I saw it myself. Unfortunately we didn't have much time and I couldn't create a track for it.
As a gamer I'm quite lazy myself and I don't like long loading times, so my main concern with the music was creating something really light, better suited for a game to be played over the internet.
Thank you for your feedback ;-)
(Matteo Gagliardi, President vs Eevol composer)

kato9 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Not bad - the bomb mechanic is pretty cool. The dashing was strangely unreliable though. After about the third area it seemed like the game could've used a bit of a twist to mix things up a bit. Still, nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]