December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Glimmy

by apeandskate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD entry :)
My first finished game :)
I used Flashpunk library, FlashDevelop :)

Arrow keys to move, R to reset.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#62Innovation3.72
#62Theme3.94
#93Humor3.43
#148Fun3.31
#169Audio3.00
#188Graphics3.44
#225Overall3.25
#245Mood3.00

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

Ohh, tricky! Would like to see objects actually burn as time went by, but was a nice game. Good job :)

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

Awesome! A nice quick playing experience you could play when you need a five minute break. I like your sound effects.

Sos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

Woooooooo! Congrats, man! :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19am

A nice unique concept. I've never played a game like this before. I'd like to see it taken further. :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

Nicely done game. Great graphics, interesting gameplay (kinda reminds me of Qix). I agree that it would be nice to be able to actually burn thing down though.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50pm

For your first finished game and also LD entry this is great ^.^

apeandskate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Thanks guys. I'll try to improve the game and add burn effect later :)

vidarn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Quite fun and interesting game mechanics. I enjoyed it!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28pm

At first I thought I was just moving left and right - when I figured out I could move all over the house it became a lot more fun! Was a bit annoying getting stuck in a few areas though (table/chairs particularly).

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:22pm

A good thing that real firefighters don't just fire water bubbles at burning houses! :D Quick and fun.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

Fun! It was a little annoying getting stuck inside furniture. Sometimes the controls were really limiting, but it was great overall.

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Very nice for a first game, I think my first game was "guessing the number". :P Controls could be a little bit better, especially at the slopes. Nonetheless, nice idea!

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Very good game. Congratulations!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Cheers!

YopSolo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

like it :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Lovely idea! Could use some clarification though, I wasn't quite sure what to do.

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51pm

cool idea, love the art. Sound is fitting too

Deril says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:30am

Interesting idea.
It would be nice to have more dynamic controls... like fire automatically finding corner near by and not beeing stuck.

Overall.. well done!

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:46pm

It's kinda hard and for a first game quite solid. Nice!

fishbrain says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Really nice idea, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]