December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bandits

by Erik Örjehag - Jam Entry

Description:
A group of people is wondering around in the forrest. Your task is to trick the innocent people into traps by rotating the road signs. If you kill everyone you win. If someone escapes the forrest, you lose.

Controles:
- Rotate signs by clicking on them.
- Restart the level by restarting the game.

Credits:
Kalle Kvarnfors - Programmer
Hampus Aberg - Artist
Erik Orjehag - Programmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#108Humor(Jam)2.93
#125Innovation(Jam)3.07
#131Graphics(Jam)3.40
#142Theme(Jam)3.40
#182Fun(Jam)2.73
#186Overall(Jam)2.93
#234Mood(Jam)2.54
#1102Coolness17%

Comments

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Really liked the concept, art style was nice too. Trap instructions could have been a little clearer though.

Flai says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Pretty fun, but the instructions could've been better. I waas somewhat confused at the start. Also not having to restart the whole application to restart the level would've been nice :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Simple but fun!
I lost before I had the chance to fully understand mechanics and had to stop and reopen the application. What about a restart button?

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33pm

it's a good concept

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Cool game but a it's a bit easy to kill them all ;)

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Love the idea, but seems that the characters walk a bit slowly, isn't?

Erik Örjehag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Thanks guys for all the positive feedback! We would like to have added a restart button but school came between and we lost the last day of development, so we didn't have time to polish. The walking might seem a bit slow for some, but we were afraid that the puzzle would be to hard if they walked any faster. Once again, thanks and we really appreciate your comments :D

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

cant run it, can you specify the cmd line ?

D:\>java TheBandits.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: TheBandits/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: TheBandits.jar
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: TheBandits.jar. Program will exit.

Erik Örjehag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Rename the file to TheBandits.jar and place it in your user directory, mine would be "Erik". Then try:
java -jar TheBandits.jar
I hope that's answering your question.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Nice idea, but I'm missing audio

Jeremias says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:11pm

The visuals are really cute. The people walk slow and it's not clear enough how the traps work. It would be nice, if the player is more involved! I hope you keep working :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]