December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Build-a-Bandit

by hissssssssss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adjust your villainous mustache, eyes and hat to defeat the sheriff in a shoot-out!

12/31/12 - Thanks for all the feedback, everyone!
I added the source file, made in Python with Pygame. It's messy, but feel free to take a look. Run it from the command line by typing "python main.py" if you're able to run python files.

I wrote a post-mortem here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/30/build-a-bandit-post-mortem/

The money is just for high-score purposes, which get totalled up at the end of the game. Can you beat my highscore of $34270?

TIP: Each stereotypical villain attribute will affect your prowess in battle in some way. One extreme will rob you of the benefits of the other side of the scale, so depending on your opponent, balanced physical features might be better than comical extremes. Try different hat sizes to see the most obvious effect. For example, my favourite bandit has a very short hat, a very thick mustache, and moderately squinty eyes, but that's not very appropriate for the Sheriff of Goatsville, Speedy Jim. What combination would work better?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#88Humor3.46
#151Theme3.70
#192Innovation3.24
#383Graphics2.90
#465Overall2.80
#471Mood2.60
#503Audio1.96
#545Fun2.46

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03am

Any bandit without a towering hat and a twirlable mustache isn't a bandit I'd want to meet.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

You made it in pygame, same as me! It would be a much better game were the combat interactive.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Loved the graphics, I wish the combat was a bit deeper though, it seems lacking. Great idea though. :) Bandit face customization well done.

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Quite pointless game because you have nothing to do during a duel.. Or I missed something. But the possibility of making a villain with massive mustache and piercing eyes - priceless ;)

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48pm

I made it through 6 towns so I guess my mustache was adequately large :) I can tell you put a lot of work into the points/damage system, but maybe a fire button would have made it feel a little more interactive.

cardboard says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

Fun game. I rather like games where you just sit back and see what happens. I like the graphics, especially the buildings in the back. Some dueling music might have been nice, but then again it doesn't need music. Great job!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45am

@cardboard You hit the nail on the head, here. It's supposed to be a game where the tweaking of your stats is important, more RPG-puzzle than anything else. Set up your "solution" to the duel and then sit back see if you can make it through. The appearance isn't just for kicks: each physical attribute affects your stats in a very significant way.

However, given the time and my lack of experience, I wasn't able to make the differences in each stat pronounced enough, nor was I able to implement enough visual feedback to give people more of a clue what was going on during battle. That's why it feels like an action game that fell flat, rather than the puzzle it's supposed to be.

That's the nature of the 48 hour, though. "Supposed to." But I'm happy with the experience I got from this, and if I pick this one back up I know I can make it better.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:04am

I loved that customization screen! Though it was a bit tragic when my setting the hat to epic tallness didn't translate into the actual duel graphics. The mustache did though! Yay!

The dueling felt very detached. But I did enjoy watching the console output list the hit/miss status as well as the damage dealt on hit! Yay for debug output :D

Hume says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:27pm

I DEMAND ADJUSTABLE SCAR LENGTH

I don't know how the characteristics affect your success in the duel. And can you spend money to upgrade your hat?

Curse you, Goatsville!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:23pm

It's original !

OU GDA says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:43am

Haha. Enjoyed being able to create the villain and sit back and watch as he destroyed sheriff after sheriff. Wish you could take the money you earned for upgrades on your next evil doer. Fun either way.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:23am

Did the duel have any controls? Nice graphics, and customizing bandit is fun.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Customizing is fun, definitely, but the combat was a little static. Would have loved some more interactivity.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:42pm

I loved that I could customize the bandit. It would have been nice to have more control over the game. Nice concept!

goerp says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Ah, I couldn't beat Speedy Jim no matter how much I squinted and twirled my moustache!

That was fun. I've always had a weak spot for low-interactive games since Settlers II so, I like this.
Good game I think.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:19am

Thanks for all the comments everyone! I added the source and wrote up a Post Mortem.

@OU GDA: The money is just for high score purposes, though maybe a post-compo version might add a store for you to buy things. Your score is totalled after you beat Goatsville.

@goerp: Speedy Jim is incredibly fast, but weak. Your hat size is very important against him in particular: it's simply impossible to outspeed him, and he's got more health than you, so you need a way to take the multiple blows he dishes out. Experimenting with a different mustache can't hurt either, though the mustache comes down to a personal preference of how often you want to hit him for how hard.

ilo says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:39am

Love the way the sheriff's smile while dueling, he he he. :)

It was great to see a novel mechanic, with lots of potential humour too. As a puzzle game, it might be better if the duels didn't take as long... Perhaps you could customise the appearance of the sheriffs too to give the player a clue about how to counter them!

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:43am

The fights can take a long time and it's hard to stay engaged since you can't actually take any action during them. I really like the idea of modifying aesthetic characteristics to effect a fight though. I think it would be helpful if there were more clues about how the different characteristics affected the combat.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Haha very cool idea! I didn't get how the moustache/hat/look affect the fights, but whatever, I had fun. Sometimes the fights are a bit too loong though, it gets boring to watch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]