December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Patient Zero

by burtlo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

## Story

You have infected yourself with a virus that is killing you. Your goal is to infect everyone you possibly can before your life runs out.

## Controls

* Up, Down, Left, and Right to move

## Music

* https://soundcloud.com/franklin-webber

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Audio3.45
#324Mood2.86
#403Theme3.13
#550Graphics2.43
#555Overall2.65
#614Innovation2.32
#628Humor1.79
#640Fun2.18
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Dioiminik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

It won't run on mac os x 10.8. If you want I can give you the error log (just talk to me on twitter, I don't want to spam the comments @dioiminik)

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22pm

I'm not sure what the challnge is, since there are no opponents, only bots that actually scared and run screaming :) but the music is perfect, so i played until the track stopped

SirJson says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45pm

This game is a way to easy :) But the music is cool!

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I was hoping for redemption, but I didn't find it.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Interesting if a bit repetitive.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:20am

Good job for your first LD.
Howerer your game suffer from gameplay issues. We don't really now where is the challenge, you just run into people with your character. It's hard to see any win/loss conditions.
Good music, nevertheless.

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:44pm

It works on my osx. A little lagging, though.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:10am

Nice graphics. The sounds were well used. I think if you had voices of the guys dying it would have made it better. Short and repetitive, buy if you added some more features it would be even better!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:11am

Very darn good entry fro a first run on Ludum Dare. Ye should be proud mate!

GameRespect says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:35am

I like the simple aesthetic and the tense soundtrack, though more obstacles and enemies will add a lot. Good work!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Music is good and sets the tone well.
The game itself is basic though a nice touch some people will panic and run away.

Not sure why but the game performs very badly. Lag sets in as soon as 2 or more infection animations occur at the same time, this should not be problem, even for Ruby.

If you speed this up x 2 in both movement and time left the whole thing will become more frantic, then with a good running animation for the anti-hero it will gain a lot of character.

delpes says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:00am

Nicely done. Got 23 screens :)

StMatn says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice graphics and very cool music. The gameplay would have been cool if there were missions or something tike that, but thats just my opinion.

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:00pm

The music is good, the game feels too easy because nobody tries to stop you.
Props for Ruby, I love to see it used by game developers.

Dioiminik says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:47pm

you're Game run's now ;) I like the idea, the music and the Graphics. The Theme was well. Overall, nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]