Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Mute King - vids - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get your queen some flowers on her birthday before sunrise. Stay clear of the villagers, they don't agree with the whole idea.

Use W,A,S,D and Space to move around, use mouse gestures to experiment with spells/actions.

Get to the queen before the villagers stop you!

EDIT : Changed Windows download to an alternate link to Dropbox, for those who are having issues viewing it online.

View vids's journal. | View all entries by vids

Ratings

Coolness100%
#229Innovation3.16
#507Humor2.10
#510Audio1.90
#518Fun2.52
#519Overall2.72
#543Graphics2.46
#614Mood2.27
#695Theme2.18

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

The queen didnt get her flower :( Nice game, good job :)

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37am

Hey thanks a lot! Does this comment system have spoiler tags? :-)

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:55am

jumping over angry mob is fun! =D

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02am

I can't seem to get teleport working reliably, and sometimes the canvas doesn't accept my mouse input (maybe if something else on the page is selected... not sure yet) but definitely one to go back and mess around with to find more spells.

..cause without more spells, that queen is NOT getting her flower X)

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:47am

I had a bit of trouble with the gestures, but I love the idea.

Why are those villagers so down on me givin' the queen some flowers? Killjoys.

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:55am

Cool idea! It was pretty hard to get the attack gestures right for me. Great job

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03am

Interesting concept, but it was hard for me to get the gestures right. ):

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10am

Gestures cheat sheet if you must:-

Short Horizontal Swipes : Hit
Upward Swipe : Turn trees/bushes into mana/speed fruits
Downward Swipe : Turn plants into health fruits
Diagonal Long Upwards : TP
Diagonal Long Downwards : Fimiliar using plants
Circle Large : Hex
8 Symbol (start and end at the center) : +Time
Horizontal Swipe Long (while moving) : Heal

Exaggerate the gestures if they're not responding. Will fix it in the next build. Thanks for the feedback!

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:07am

I like games with mouse gestures, it is also nicely drawn. The sound effects could be better, though.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

Nice work with the gestures

Vic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

Hi! I wanted to play the web version. But I think the link is dead, can you check it?

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54am

Great entry, I loved the mouse gestures thing!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03am

Good job with the gameplay I liked playing :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

The web link is dead :(

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:08pm

Had to take a look at the gestures sheet cause i was pretty lost! Great concept, and love the gameplay, needs a little bit of polish. Cheers! :)

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Oh man, my server guy promised me no downtime. I'm extremely sorry for the inconvenience but you might have to do with the link to Dropbox for now. Thanks again for trying it out!

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

I made it to the queen! Fairly short, but unique. The mouse gestures are neat, but there are a few that I did that I am not sure how I did.

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:55pm

It's great that it rewards players who experiment with the gestures and allows for different strategies. I couldn't attack reliably, but I discovered I could just turn everyone into trees and then turn those trees into more mana. :)

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:19pm

The mouse gestures are really cool, but could use slightly better implementation. Once you lose once or twice the prospect of playing again doesn't feel that interesting or compelling.

I don't get what the point of NOT teaching the player the gestures. It may make sense to hide certain interactions, but leaving me totally in the dark wasn't particularly compelling.

Patrick64 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Nice to a see a HTML5 game - it looks good and the idea is quite innovative. Unfortunately it doesn't run well on my crappy PC. Check out this article about having a game loop with updates at fixed steps: http://nokarma.org/2011/02/02/javascript-game-development-the-game-loop/index.html

Drabiter says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Nice gesture mechanism.

soy_yuma says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:45am

Wow, spoiling me with the comments changed completely my concept of the game. I think it's a very good idea to use the gestures! Unfortunately it is too complicated to perform them...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]