Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Necrominously Evil - Azlen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

walk around using sound. I wish I did more on this game but I got the basics and stuff working.

CONTROLS:
w = move forward
a = rotate left
s = move backward
d = rotate right
click+drag = rotate

Have fun!

View Azlen's journal. | View all entries by Azlen

Ratings

#11Audio3.92
#32Innovation3.96
#228Mood3.05
#494Fun2.56
#542Overall2.68
#657Humor1.67
#666Theme2.33
#686Graphics2.05
#711Coolness47%

Comments

refrag says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Really interesting concept. I would love to have seen where you were going to take this. Level 1 took a bit to get used to, but the learning curve wasn't bad. Level 2 got too hard too quick. Still, a solid entry. Nice work!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05am

Please upload the source files.

Also explain how to play. XD

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07am

Can't get how to play. I heard the sound and spun around, but didn't know how to walk to the door.

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

Very innovative!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

I've played a game like this before - fascinating stuff! I hate getting "stuck" on walls. Wish I was a slimy creature or something that could slide along.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

I like the idea of navigating by sound (my students riffed on this concept a bit back in the day -- http://graphics.cs.cmu.edu/courses/15-466-f09/themes/game2-sound -- with some fun results as well).

In this game, it's a bit frustrating when one gets stuck on walls -- I really want to "feel my way along the wall" in level 3, but instead I just stop repeatedly.

Azlen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17am

Sorry if it is hard to play. I tried my best.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:35pm

This is an interesting concept and I like the minimalist design. I had a hard time figuring out out -- even just that I can use WASD to move around (Originally I was clicking and dragging the compass?). Eventually I got the hang of it, but I was unable to find the beep in the last room.

Azlen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Yeah, I think there is a bug with the beep in the last room. I tried many times to get to it and I never found it.

Also the beast is supposed to wake up and attack you when you come near it but there was a bug with that too.

barkergames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:03am

Great Innovation!

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:09am

The audio was quite interesting! however I could not figure out level two at all...

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15am

I really like this. I have only two complaints. One is that it's too big -- even with my browser maximized, I can't see everything. The other is that I think the footsteps should be quieter so I can hear the pinging better.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16am

Very interesting idea. High learning curve, but I enjoyed myself once I got the hang of it. I don't think it was possible for me to beat the last level.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:25am

Got lost in level 3, it seemed like the pinging was in the wall and the beast disappeared. Other than that, cool idea! Not sure what it has to do with the theme though.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:04pm

The concept is awesome, and the design coupled with the sound effects really made for a cool (and sometimes creepy) atmosphere. Nice!

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06pm

interest idea, but i didn't get what to do

Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:01am

Very interesting concept, a bit hard to grasp at first but that usually happens when you try to innovate or differentiate from the standard. This game had a great use of audio!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:59am

Text didn't always fit on the screen making it even harder to understand what was going on.

ceronman says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:33am

Level 2 was really hard. Very interesting concept.

illugion says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:59am

Really epic! I closed my eyes while playing and really got in the mood, this was just great

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:35am

Really awesome concept here, never thought I'd see an audio game on LD and even less so for this theme!

The mechanic is implemented well, though as others have said already the steed difficulty curve and the wall-sticking got in the way a bit.

I hope you develop this further! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]