Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

MurderBoss - TylerJones - Jam Entry

You play the unfairly overpowered final boss of a brutally difficult arena combat game. Arrow keys and ZXC controls.

Programming - Tyler Jones
Art - Chris Kennedy, Jarrel Lanchester
Music - Jarrel Lanchester

View TylerJones's journal. | View all entries by TylerJones

Ratings

#4Theme(Jam)4.36
#37Audio(Jam)3.62
#100Innovation(Jam)3.18
#113Graphics(Jam)3.50
#117Overall(Jam)3.24
#122Mood(Jam)3.00
#126Fun(Jam)3.00
#242Humor(Jam)2.07
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00am

This is a really neat concept! It is nice to be the annoying boss and jump all around the screen! The graphics are beautiful, especially the boss's, even a flowing robe wow! However, mowing down the player characters felt a bit tedious, and it would be nice if they had some more variation to their movement and attacks.

MvT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Controls are hard on french keyboard, but i loved that game, i think if you improve him, i'll play again. :)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Pretty fun game. :) I liked the graphics, and the reversal of a typical boss fight. I found it a little too easy though. You can just mash "Z" on the players and win. :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I earned the arcade a load of money from some poor saps pocket money. I used to be one of those poor saps!

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Sorry about the European keyboard issue. I had no idea about that until after the game released! It's a mistake I won't repeat in the future. If you have a controller and JoyToKey or XPadder then I recommend playing that way.

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:51am

That was awesome. I really love the boss character design.
Got stuck on the edges of the platforms a few times.
Could do with a little variation on the players part, perhaps more characterisation.
Note for those with European keyboards, AutoHotkey is a fantastic utility for windows.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:06am

I won.

It was the intended result.

The boss was cool looking, and I'm really fond of the idea in general of playing an OP boss. At first I thought it was too easy, but then I liked the idea of that. It should be easy for an endboss. You should feel unstoppable. Most bosses only lose because they have a really obvious weakness and they don't cover it, but a logical endboss shouldn't be able to die.

Either way, cool entry, nice music. Well done.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:12pm

I like the idea to play the boss. Here is my feedback:

- The player graphics differ from the background respective the style. The background looks nice anyway.
- You can spam the range attack without getting hit. The close combat attack is a bit too strong. The gameplay gets really quick to a button smashing while following the players.
- If you continue on this game, you should animate the GUI like the player's health so the numbers pop if something changes (or give them health bars). Changes of game relevant values should have a higher visual contrast as just changing numbers.
- Use key bindings which are shared across countries. Here in Germany e.g., the keys "Z" and "Y" are swapped.
- I hope you continue on this :)

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:37pm

It was pretty cool =)
I liked the different types of attack. I really feeled to be like the boss on a 4 player game. cool cool

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Can't play windows games.

mokujin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:22pm

I like music in this game)

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:39am

It's always fun to play as a boss character :)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Great music, animation, and boss design and a great concept overall... but it falls short in a few ways. For one, there is no strategy required at all. Just run back and forth along the bottom and spam/alternate both attacks and you will win before your health even hits the halfway mark. Two, the soldier AI is very limited. Most bosses in games like this have a pattern that repeats and the players have to learn the pattern. The boss attacks are highly powerful and the boss can take tons of damage. This is the trade. Once the player can learn the pattern, then it doesn't matter how much damage the boss attacks do. A great way to handle the gameplay would be to limit the movement of the boss to commands instead of free control. For example, you'd have a selection of 5 or 6 movement types and maybe 3 to 4 attack types. Instead of moving freely, you choose a movement type (like jumping from block 1 to block 3 with a midair spin) and attack type (attack before jumping, while jumping, or after landing) and then repeat this process to try and confuse the AI. The AI would have to be able to 'learn' certain parts of the attack process making certain combinations nearly useless at some point, forcing the boss to mix it up. But that's just a quick suggestion. Whether or not something like that is possible during this short compo is another thing entirely. :p

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]