December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Word Works

by cooper6581 - Jam Entry

Our first jam. Unfortunately half of the team was sick, so we didn't reach all of our goals.

How to play:
The objective is simple, meet the minimum score and word length per level. There are 10 levels in total.

Blank tiles wipe the screen so you have a chance to breathe :)

You get one undo per level, use it wisely!

iPhone Version
--------------

If you have an iPhone, you can try the iPhone version here:

http://kiwi.pyralis.net/ld_25iPhone/

We only tested Safari, and adding the page to your home screen.

Note: We forgot to account for the phone status bar in the top. Lesson learned :(

Tools Used:
-----------

Language - Javascript
Library - EaselJS
Sound - Bfxr and Ableton Live
Graphics - Gimp and Photoshop 5.5
IDE - Vim and Emacs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Audio(Jam)2.96
#209Innovation(Jam)2.64
#219Fun(Jam)2.56
#269Graphics(Jam)2.44
#282Overall(Jam)2.44
#295Humor(Jam)1.53
#312Mood(Jam)1.63
#328Theme(Jam)1.09
#742Coolness46%

Comments

mutuwarejam says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:13am

Not bad, probably easier to play on a touchscreen, bit tricky with a mouse, zipping down to the green tick.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Was a fun, novel game. Very hectic, and my brain sort of went "G-R-A-... uh... ah crap."
However, I'm not really sure how this fit in with the theme at all. I saw the man in the title and thought him to look a little sinister - is it because of half of your team being sick that you didn't get to fit the theme in properly? Ah well. Thoroughly enjoyed it, still. :)

Falkreon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:01pm

This entry was aggrivating because of its vastly inconsistent quality.

The web version pops up dialogues, which isn't really a good for that platform.

Game doesn't accept keyboard input, which is understandable considering the skill element of clicking/touching the letters

The music was really good. The graphics were fine.

Nothing in this entry addressed the theme. It's like you had this idea before you went in, and couldn't think of a way to make the theme fit. On top of that, it really fell flat as a web port. It was clearly intended for iOS.

Aside from that, it really could use a dedicated end-of-round screen to tally up your score and orient the player for the next round.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

either the score counter doesn't reset to zero every level or I randomly lose with a higher score than required?

cooper6581 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:14pm

@Pixelbear/Falkreon: we were going to fit the theme with cut scenes between levels. The home screen, and lose/win screens give hints at what we wanted it to feel like. Let me try to wrap it here: villain(you) has a princess that serves as fuel for a worlds destroyer machine. In order to build the machine he needs pieces that are in boxes being shredded by the people that don't want the world to end. Well, the way we thought we could verify if the evil guy was getting the right pieces was by having letters on top of the boxes and get words. In the end, after having all the pieces, he is seen dragging the princess to the machine (that was supposed to be in the "you win" background).

The problem was... people getting sick and spending more time taking care of them than coding. So... we only got bits and pieces of the overall schema.

Thanks for all the feedback though, we certainly appreciate it!

cooper6581 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:16pm

moomoo112: were you meeting the minimum word size requirement for the level? You always have to meet that, even if you have a higher score than required.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Site seems to be down?

cooper6581 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Thanks for the heads up Per, the server crashed. Should be back up now.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Sometime a bit difficult to select a letter while it's moving (played from web, not iphone).

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Keyboard input would be cool, but it would be great on a touchscreen

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:17pm

The controls are definitely a little clunky on a computer. I also feel like the difficulty jumps around a lot, rather than scaling. It was a lot of fun, though.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:12am

I would have done a slower progression curve. The first level by itself would have been fun for a long time, I think, without changing up the tracks too much.

Not exactly sure how I'm a villain.

illugion says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:07am

Really cool and original game, i liked it, are you gonna polish it later or something ?

AdricZero says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Seemed like a fun innovative game. But it was moving too quickly to enjoy. Also don't see the theme reflected in the game, only in the potential villainous guy on the intro screen. I do see potential here if you were to continue on with this concept and make a tablet game out of this and slow it down early on in the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]