December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Krampus

by 3dwoody - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever Ludum Dare entry.
Made using Stencyl.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#54Audio3.50
#65Graphics3.97
#94Theme3.83
#136Fun3.34
#151Overall3.41
#187Mood3.14
#222Humor2.96
#579Innovation2.41

Comments

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:29pm

Great idea, beautiful graphics, good job.

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

beautiful

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:32pm

loved the music

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

very fun, nice job!

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

One of the most polished games I've played so far - everything feels consistent, nicely tuned and properly refined. Not really much critical feedback I can give to be honest. I guess the controls feel a little too slippery, but that's about it! Really great effort.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28am

Nice game.
I like that I have to "stomp" everything :)

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Awesome game. The graphics are superb. The music is very nice fitting, so is the overall mood in there. Good approach on the theme. Overall a fun game you made there.
Only downside is the sloppy controls. It was just very hard to navigate properly. But the graphics make it all up as they are awesome.

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Nice presentation, great idea, but the game is very short.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Controls are kind of slidey. Other than that, a pretty good platformer.

Mase says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Vaguely reminiscent of Moonwalker for Genesis, w/r/t the kids.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Nice idea and good graphics. The platforming engine was also remarkably smooth, aside from sometimes randomly getting stuck when pressing right at the same time as falling on a platform. Did you program it beforehand, or during the compo? Or does Stencyl have that sort of built-in thing? Sorry, not familiar with Stencyl. Great job regardless!

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Nice art!

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:09am

The graphics and sound are really good, and it's cute and funny too. That said, the controls are just too slippery. I never felt like I was in control of the Krampus, but that the deer were perfectly in control of themselves.

csanyk says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:57am

Charming! The platforms were pretty difficult to land on due to their slipperiness and small size. Liked the music, too.

AdricZero says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Great background music and sound effects. I could have used them in my game too. Good graphics too and good game play.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]