December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Death Star

by Spacehunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please use Chrome or Safari Browsers

* Firefox fixes in the works

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#220Graphics3.32
#371Audio2.41
#376Theme3.19
#474Mood2.59
#573Innovation2.42
#633Humor1.78
#673Overall2.38
#711Fun1.92

Comments

kerneltrick says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22am

Doesn't work in firefox btw

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18am

Arrrhggh soo hard! I only killed one after like 4 retries! Cool music. Didn't feel like I had much control of my aim... Great job nonetheless! :D

Wuhao says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

the crosshair is not controllable?

Spacehunter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31am

it is using the arrow keys...it's a little tricky to use

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:54am

Ugh I wish I had KNOWN that clicking more than once reset your missile ;) overall nice game though.

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

music is fit, but control is too tricky

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:26am

Dodgy controls make this game unplayable. Also, the music wasn't working on my mac, using chrome.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13pm

There can be only 1 bullet at a time.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:08pm

hard!

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Yeah the controls are plain horrible, especially to move the cursor horizontally x) And the fact that there can only be one bullet at the same time is another weird difficulty added on top of that.

The graphics looks quite good, unfortunately the gameplay itself is insanely difficult and not really fun.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:55pm

Ah, glad it's just not me who wondered if the arrow keys were working. Nice idea for the game though.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:59pm

The controls are too irresponsive! It's a cool concept though!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Promising graphics, and it steers like a death star on death star too!

OxyOxspring says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:48am

The control is so tricky. xD

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:29am

Good: Nice graphics and a good interpretation of the theme!
Improve: I did not manage to hit any of the ships :/ Better controls perhaps?

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:58pm

The controls were really unresponsive though love the graphics.. I see a job at ILM in your future, hmm?

wombatica says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:44pm

hard to control but love the idea and feel

Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:32pm

I like the theme.
I don't really understand how to move (I use the arrow key ??)

csanyk says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:31am

Loved the visuals on this. Gameplay is a bit weak. Would have preferred to control the reticle with the mouse. Aiming was just about impossible, although I was able to score a few hits.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:27am

Was your intention to make gameplay more difficult in order to simulate the difficulty of operating a death star? That is an interesting idea, but the controls need to be improved.

I feel like this is such a shame, because this game has everything to be so awesome! Please work on the crosshair, make it easier!

That aside, nice idea : )

Spacehunter says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Yes, I agree with you all about the controls. My first implementation of the crosshair was way to easy to use thus I increase the difficulty a little too much. I didn't consider the mechanic to be a bug and was trying to stay within the rules of the event. I will try to update my game as time becomes available.

Thanks for all the feedback ;)

evilseanbot says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:31am

Didn't work for me. I'm assuming it needs webgl enabled?

Spacehunter says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:38pm

nope no webgl, use either chrome or safari browsers

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]