December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Missile Mission

by Imperiopolis - Jam Entry

You're on a mission.. to blow up the world. Written with Cocos2d JS bindings using Cocos Builder.

Fly your missile through the asteroid belt in order to destroy the planet, collecting warp rings to increase your speed (and give you points).

To control the missile, drag it across the screen.

Programmed by Nathan Trapp and art by Josh Miller.

iOS version will be posted shortly, you'll have to code-sign it manually to try it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1102Coolness17%

Comments

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:47pm

A pretty little game, although on my machine it was rather frame-rate spikey which made it difficult to control.

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

It was really hard to play, especially with the acceleration. Good graphics and music though!

Fenmar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56pm

I instantly loved the music :) The game really feels like it belongs on a phone. With a mouse it's a bit hard to control.

mokujin says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:45pm

terrible performance -_o but controlls quite interesting)

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Jams after loading 100% in a Webkit based browser on Linux.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:28am

Performance was really poor on my machine making playing the game extremely hard. Might be fun on a iPhone. Nice art and sound.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:59am

Okay game. Pretty short and the FPS was jumpy. I didn't know how it fit the theme.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Quite hard because the missile is so fast. Good graphics and audio. Good job!

Fififox says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Damn, it speeds up really fast!
Too bad I can't live for more than 30-50 points, I like the gameplay.
Good entry that needs some tweaks.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]