Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Speedrun - jmk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How to play
----------
- Tap/hold space bar to accelerate, release to slow down (no brakes!)
- Arrow up/down to steer


About
-----
This is my first LD entry! It was a lot of fun, even though I had to skip out about 10 hours early. Hence, the lack of a menu/nice start. :(

The premise of the game is simple ... outrun the cops. Don't hit too many cars, though, or else your car is going to go up in smoke!

The "source" version is playable if you have Love2D installed on your system. To view source, rename to .zip and extract.

Special thanks to 'enginemusic' on Freesound for the Ferrari engine sample. :)
http://www.freesound.org/people/enginemusic/sounds/43484/

View jmk's journal. | View all entries by jmk

Ratings

Coolness51%
#7Overall4.10
#9Fun3.97
#17Graphics4.34
#38Audio3.61
#277Mood2.95
#295Humor2.73
#386Innovation2.81
#398Theme3.14

Comments

aldenc98 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

fun game! you must have been hacking though, because i can't get anywhere near :42.28

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:55am

Pretty fun and addicting. Nice work!

Fireblend says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

Survived for 36 glorious seconds! I think this might be seriously among my favorites. Spot on sound effects, excellent visuals, addicting gameplay, the controls feel responsive enough to know it's my fault when I lose, yet frustrating enough to add to the difficulty, and it's really addicting. Great job!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00am

Chasing down the highway trying to escape the cops, thats just like playing what I dream every night! =D

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01am

Awesome graphics and car sounds.

Only real complaint is that it kills you way too quickly at the start. You should start closer to the right side of the screen at the beginning (and delay the starting cars).

Add some powerups (that repair you, give you bumpers for knocking cars out of the way for a brief time, etc) and this could be a fun little endurance game.

I've made it around 35 or so!

vrav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16am

Though I don't really feel like a villain, this game is quite polished and very fun. I like that it has short rounds - nice balance and depth. For some reason I feel nostalgic playing this.

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26am

This is a really well made game. The graphics are great and the audio is great too. And of course it's fun :)

It would be nice if you had to press a button to start, just to avoid being killed right a way when you start up the game.

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40am

Yeah, I didn't have time to polish up the intro/start. :( But thanks for playing/rating!

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45am

So satisfying forcing buses off the road!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27am

lol I almost said "ProTip: Rename the download file to something like speedrun_by_jmk or something." but then I unarchived the file and was like hahahah

Anyways this game is very good, good graphics, fun, good level of difficulty for a game you are meant to play several times, good audio... basically: GREAT JOB

Only lacking category is theme really. Because you're not that much of a bad guy. Still you took an original approach which is better than a generic game.

TomK32 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

Super fun, I like the rectangles for collision debugging :)
But: No police sirens? That's a minus for the mood. And I think on starting the race the cars should be standing and only slowly speed up. I got killed trice before I realized that I should hit space.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

I liked this. It's quite simple, but well executed. I liked how getting damaged decreased your acceleration, which eventually destroys you.

- You really should've added a bit of info in-game; at least that you should use space. I had to go back to this page to find out how to start.
- I'm also fan of a menu; at least to make sure the game doesn't start right away.

Other than that a fine first attempt.

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07am

Like someone has said before, you should start further to the right.

Impressive entry, loved it!

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

@Gemberkoekje: Yes, all valid points. I wanted to add a menu and some on-screen instructions, but totally ran out of time. :'(

But thank you all for the comments!

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

Mate, i want this on my Android phone, do it! :D
Very nice graphic style and very polished game in general.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Not sure why but it seems to be running extremely slowly on my computer. As such I can't really play it correctly. But the sounds, the graphics and the game idea is really cool. Well done on your first entry!

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

:) http://puu.sh/1C5xm

Awesome game, one of my favorites I have played so far. I couldn't stop playing until I beat 42.48

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Nice game! It took some time to figure out how to start game before i die)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

It's fun, but its very hard.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:07am

My best was 46 Seconds. This game is a lot of fun....I was compelled to keep trying and get the best score. It's also nice to see a driving game.

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Pretty fun. Should wait for a keypress at first startup and a menu would have been nice as well.

blob says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:40am

Hehe, great art and nice difficulty curve with good, simple controls.
The first time you play is pretty surprising...
36 secs.

fr_automatik says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Fun game! I've done 35 secs.

krutech says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Wow. cool game. A bit difficult at first.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:48am

30:56 only. The car's engine audio is awesome. Very challenging (a good thing). Very good pixel art. Fun gameplay. Good job!

Jan 8, 2013 @ 9:32am

OMG - this is super nice, make this thing an iPhone Game, plx!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]