Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Children : Reverse Slender

by HackThePanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a parody on the game Slender, except you play as the villain: Slenderman. ;)

Made this in Java with LWJGL. Hopefully it doesn't have any compatibility problems, I've only tested on Windows 7 machines.

More info on the page, along with source code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#37Humor3.73
#73Theme3.91
#146Mood3.23
#238Graphics3.27
#324Overall3.06
#354Audio2.45
#372Fun2.83
#430Innovation2.70

Comments

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44am

I love this!!!!

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47am

Thanks! :)

rvmook says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53am

Love the concept, sound is a bit harsh though. One question, what is the purpose of jumping?

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

None, just to give the player a bit more control over movement. It always feels more immersive to me if I can jump in a game.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Creepy slender :). Good job.

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

If he just wants a hug... why do the children vanish? D:

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20pm

He teleports them out of the forest to be at home in their beds safely as he firmly believes no child should be left out in the woods at night alone

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Love the concept and pretty nice graphics. Nice work!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:24pm

This was cute. I agree that the sound could prolly be toned down a tad though.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Very interesting Slender-like game. Rather funny win screen as well.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

In hindsight I should have made the steps a little less jarring, they've gotten annoying after a couple play-throughs. But I meant for the sounds to be a bit unpleasant as it's an unpleasant theme

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

And thank you to everyone for your wonderful feedback :)

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

The static effect is very well done! Nice!

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15pm

That... Was... AMAZING, I always knew he just wanted hugs...

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Thanks 8bitDamage :) I worked hard on it
Thank you Msquirrel, it's a personal belief of mine

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Really cool effects !

crashbanito says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I think what makes this game are the facial expressions you give Slenderman. A simple game, but quite humorous.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:46pm

Nice style and very polished, but a bit light on game mechanics. Static effect is great.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:46pm

So thats what slender mans face looks like! That was fun :)

horrorpen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Amazing and funny! I like it very much!

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07am

Thanks Edocentrique!
@crashbanito I love them too lol, they kind of give me the creeps
@Winterblood Thanks :) I wanted to do more but I just had no time, name of the game though I guess
@Mava thanks! I'm glad you had fun
@horrorpen thank you I'm glad you like it :)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:54am

LOL.
I have played Slender a few times, and this... is... just... funny.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

Yes! I was hoping someone would make a reverse slender game. :D

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:55am

the gameplay reminds me a bit this: http://twinbeardstudios.com/230_huggy-bear :-)

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:54pm

I really do like the overlay when you get close and the graphics overall. The idea of "cant move when seen" is great. Well done

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:43pm

After loading the screen just goes black. I'm on OSX/Firefox.

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

It can be tough to make any progress when there's a group of children together but it's a cool concept. As others have said, the static screen is cool looking. :)

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Lol thanks HeroesGrave :)
@Jezzamon I was too but then I decided to make it myself
@Xavier omg that's the funniest game ever who in the world would come up with that
Thank you Maristak :)
@rasmusrn I've heard people not being able to play it on OSX, I'm not sure why that is as the settings/natives should be set up correctly
@FinalMirage yeah, anyone who asks for a moral behind this game will be that kids should a.) not go into a forest at night without parental supervision and b.) should always travel in groups. And thank you, I'm glad people are liking it :)

LogGiant says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:03am

I was laughing my way through this game! I would be upset that slenderman had a face, except it was fantastic.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:53pm

Hilarious! The animations were simple - but super effective. Good job!

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Thanks monomanio :)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Great idea! The mood of the game was aptly dark and it was funny too. :)

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Thank you!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:07am

Ah, funny stuff, dude. You get props by getting good scores for mood and humor, which is not a common sight. Bad and good break-down:

-Not too much variety, a bit basic
-Throwing off the player with a jump they can't use, but if you really think that's more immersive, ignore this minus.
+Fun Concept
+Very Streamlined, nothing in the way of making the game overly-complex, which I like. :)

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:36am

Thanks, Puzzlem00n :)
Indeed basic, but as you later mentioned it keeps the game from getting overly complex which seems to be better for Ludum Dare as people aren't really going to take the time to learn and play a complicated RPG just so they can give a quick little rating.
In hind sight I should have made it clearer some how that jump doesn't do anything, confusion defeats the point of immersion.
But yeah, thanks a lot for the feedback! It's much appreciatd

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:37pm

I like the idea but it lacks gameplay and the sound is just a little to much. I like the fact that you've given the player the ability to jump, even though it's not necessary, i read in the comments that you included it for the immersion and i think that's awesome! Still a fun game that's more about the message than gameplay. Good job!

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Thanks Birchmountain!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Great game both conceptually and technically.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:52am

This is great...the trollface on slenderman is pure gold.

garygreen says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Unfortunately I couldn't play this game - I was just given a series of black and white boxes where I assume the game graphics should have been.

HackThePanda says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Thank you Mista Koo and DDRKirby!

I'm sorry about that garygreen, it has something to do with lower versions of OpenGL, haven't been able to track it down yet.

Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:42am

Fun!

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

Yep, that is creepy! Nice work!

Jiyko says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Dat face!

HackThePanda says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Thanks superscratcher!
Thank you fishbrain :)
@Jiyko what about the face in your profile picture? @o@

RawBits says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:39am

Nice take on the theme but the control behaviour feels a little odd. I can't put my finger on it though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]