December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bacteremia

by SumX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a nasty blood-eating bacteria, scape from those pesky white blood cells and eat all the red blood cells you can before they get you!

Made for 800x600 resolution. Included Linux build to show some love to our buddies having issues with WebPlayers

Feedback apretiated so i can improve everything.

(removed Web Player link due to an issue in DropBox)

Link takes you to my Skydrive where you can download everything if you want.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#178Humor3.10
#338Theme3.27
#354Audio2.45
#383Fun2.81
#433Overall2.84
#435Mood2.65
#580Graphics2.35
#671Innovation2.19

Comments

Seal89 says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:04am

You need to make it so the score sets back to zero when you die, other than that, lookin' good :D

lfvicens says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:07am

hey nice game!! it should be a way to kill the white cell o having more lifes i dont know xD

cresty says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 2:59am

movement is kinda confusing at first, it's intended?

moehammered says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:28am

Nice work so far! :D Almost there mate!!

cresty says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:47pm

There is some kind of movement bug when pressing multiple keys.

Davidghost says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Needs some kind of feedback for bloodstreams. Reaching some point should lets bacteria an extra life or toxins to temporarily destroy near white blood cells. It feels strange when you have a WBC just at your left and you try to get back to dodge then, relative to blood stream WBC move rapidly in every direction but you move backwards slowly, is unfare. Reached 32 points!

SumX says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Well everything should be fixed for now, let those best scores rain!

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

couldn't play web version. Didn't rate. Let me know if I'm missing something, cause I really want to play this!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

The constant loop of the audio at the beginning is a bit annoying because it's so short, but the game is fun. You might want to make the bloodstream changes visible -- I feel like they catch me too off-guard.

leothecool says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13am

Sometimes the white blood cells spawn right on top of me, just like in the human body.

SumX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

@ElScootro, im making a dropbox account to host it atm. In Skydrive you can download the WebPlayer version to play offline

teh_eria says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

Felt so good to eat those guys with huge smiles!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

love the intro "theme" music--the movement feels really rough, though. i like the concept of the bloodstream pulling you along, but there probably needs to be some onscreen feedback for what's going on. it's curious that you're drifting left--i don't think the movement would've felt as strange drifting right (like an endless runner game)

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38pm

The background is distracting, I'm never really sure how/if I'm moving, plus I hit some invisible border at some time? Other than that, interesting idea, although I'd wish there'd be some more effects, e.g. cells not just appearing or disappearing.

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:48pm

The game crashes on me after roughly 10secs of game-play.
Doesen't give much of a error message/dump, but here's what was written to the terminal: http://146.255.37.150/puffi/random/bacteremia_crash.txt

I'm running XUbuntu 12.04 and the crash reproduced 3 times out of 3 tries.

Looks interesting tho :)

Dadeyemi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:15pm

quite fun

SumX says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

@Puffi, sorry for that, i didnt get too much time for de-bugging and testing in ubuntu, i just saw that it runs and let that be. My bad actually

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27pm

Interesting idea, well done.

berareu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Funny, my highscore = 71! :)
I agree with the others, the changes in the bloodstream should be visible!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Can't play windows/linux games. :-(

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:43pm

I can only play it for a few seconds before it crashes. I got a segfault on Ubuntu 12.10

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:04am

This game is simple, but I had fun playing it. Nice work!

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:58am

I like this game. I thought the sound effects were funny.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]