Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Managing Morder: The ground is always blacker on the other side. - Bensonance - Jam Entry

This is the first time my artist and I have participated in Ludum Dare so it was mostly a learning experience.

What we ended up with is a stripped down management game with a delicious sense of humour. Chock full of Lord of the Rings satire.

View Bensonance's journal. | View all entries by Bensonance

Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Theme(Jam)3.83
#62Mood(Jam)3.39
#80Audio(Jam)3.33
#91Graphics(Jam)3.69
#97Humor(Jam)3.02
#134Overall(Jam)3.15
#147Innovation(Jam)2.94
#223Fun(Jam)2.54

Comments

Intoxicatious says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20am

ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event
for object obj_ResourceControl:

Error in code at line 2:
if(OrcTotal >= 1000){
^
at position 9: Unknown variable OrcTotal

I really wanted to play this. Seems like a simple error to fix in GameMaker.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24am

We are getting the same orctotal error.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:45am

Oh wow that was a noobtastic error :/. I updated the link with an actually playable build.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46pm

The graphics are wonderful! And the gameplay is quite inspired! Solid entry!
My only problem is the font. It's great to give a Lord of the rings feeling but...it's quite impossible to read!

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Really nice graphics and quite good gameplay. Although I have some problems/suggestions:
1)The font is cool but is really unreadable, it ruins the game!
2)There is a bug in the menu, I can highlight two sectors at the same time
3)Shouldn't you write somewhere in the sector screen that you can come back to the previous screen with "1"? I missed it the first time and I had to restart.

P.s.
Nice music!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02pm

I agree, the font makes it impossible to read anything, especially when it is curved around the circles.

I'm not sure whether I was playing it right but I obviously screwed up when I decided to build tons of spawners and we very quickly ran out of food :D

The eye beam being the cursor made me smile, as did the rest of the game. Lovely idea.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Hi Guys, thanks for playing!

We knew using that font would be a risk, but we hoped it would be legible because it really adds to the aesthetic. I guess it backfired though :p.

@MaTX That menu bug was a concession I had to made because Game Maker's collision was being fussy about the the strangely shaped sector. It really frustrated me the whole time I was coding :/. As for the '1' returning to the main screen it's in a pop up at the beginning, but I agree there should be a button or something to allow returning to the overview.

@Starspell yeah in order to win you basically need to stockpile alot of food before you begin building lots of spawn pits :).

lorancou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Nice graphics and audio, but the gameplay is a bit clunky. Pressing ESC should bring a confirmation instead of quitting abruptly, this trapped me a few times.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39pm

OH MAN, this should really be expanded. Fix the font issue and make it possible to play entirely with the mouse. Going back and forth between 1 and Enter is a bit tedious. I love the contrast between the dank, dirty pits and the swanky highrise office! This game is very charming and is a refreshing take on the theme. Congrats!

Ardale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40pm

Great graphics! I really like the eye-clock XD

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45pm

I really liked the concept of this, I only wish the gameplay mechanics were more fully explored. Plus the font is quite unreadable. Pretty good for a first-time ludum dare though! Well done!

Tsuk13 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Fantastic Game! The graphics are cool I found It kinda of confusing to learn but It was cool!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Nice managing game. They always remind me how nice it is not to work in an office ;).
Too bad for the font, though. There's a small learning curve before you get the hang of the game and a lot of text. The font doesn't really help with that. Even though it nicely fits the atmosphere. A good idea would have been to keep it as a design element (like one the ork building facade) but to chose a slightly simpler one for the essential texts.
Still it's definitely worth the extra effort. The graphics are beautiful and the sound adds a lot to the mood.

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Awesome, i see that multiple people had problems with the font, i didn't find it that hard to read myself tho.

Jiddo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Really cool graphics and music, but the font made things hard to read and follow. The font did however stick very well to the theme of the game and the theming was excellently done in general!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35pm

As some has said, the font is hard to read, but the game is good.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Nice game

soupy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

Great use of humor, especially in R&D. The scope of the interface was good even though it was sometimes hard to read. I liked that each area had it's own separate screen. I would've liked more information about how upgrades worked. Otherwise it felt hard to develop a strategy.

jujule says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:24am

A fantastic effort, but as others have said the font is difficult to read making the game very confusing at first. Once you know what icon does what, it not a problem anymore.
Another detail : discarding windows with enter while everything is mouse driven is a little bit anoying.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32am

Nice graphic and beautiful nostalgic music.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:12am

Good entry, I can understand the presence of bugs XD Good Job!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Love this game - best one yet! Possibly because i'm such a LOTR fan. Very humorous.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:52am

Great game. Bad text. Lol. I loved the art and theme.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:53am

As with many other people, I found the font too hard to read but the game certainly has a lot of potential.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]