December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DONUT HEIST: Nom in 60 Seconds

by jcvsmc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Boris!
The Greatest Donut Thief in the World!

Collect ALL the donuts then escape!
Arrows to move, space to jump.

EDIT: For the record the 1st (and only) level is possible to beat. I just made it extremely hard so that the game isn't over in 1 minute. I can complete it and multiple players have also done so!
GUIDE (Spoiler ofc!!!): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2H7holWjU8

I have made games in flash before but decided to use the comp to finally learn to use flixel!
I'm glad I did it was a lot of fun :)

code: as3/flixel in flash builder
gfx: Gimp and Pickle
sfx: my voice and audacity
music: Audiosauna

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#119Audio3.22
#194Graphics3.43
#231Humor2.94
#247Fun3.08
#281Mood2.94
#301Overall3.11
#683Theme2.26
#702Innovation2.06

Comments

Mieville says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37am

Through back to the games of my youth on the Commodore 64.

ElScootro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49am

Cool graphics and great sounds!

Could not figure out how to get past the first level in 5 tries.

Didn't quite get the link to the theme either.

char68 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

I wish I could jump higher! Actually, I'm not even sure if I could reach the donuts near the exit without being able to jump higher... Definitely liked the music, and the looks of the level were pretty good as well. Nice use of flixel!

joecarrot says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01am

Pretty sure that the lil' fellow can not jump high enough to beat the first level :(

jcvsmc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Heya just for the record it IS possible to beat the level, I just made the 1st and only level very hard so that the game isn't over in 1 minute, you have to try again and work out the best route. For the hardest donuts try jumping OFF something... ;)

jcvsmc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Here's a video of me doing it, with mistakes and still 7 seconds left ;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p2H7holWjU8

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Those rotating donuts somehow remind of Commander Keen

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

A very cute and fun game! The music is a bit to "staby" and the sound when you pick up the donuts gets annoying after a while and I cant figure out how to exit :/

But i still liked the game and it's actually one of my favorite games so far!

vidarn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

I loved the gameplay and how I had to re-think my strategy several times to find the best route through the level.
The adrenaline rush when there was one donut left and 2 seconds to go was amazing.
Very enjoyable game!

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Nice game, good difficulty level. Finished it on my fourth try with about 1s to go :P

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

I managed to beat it, but it was pretty challenging. I liked having to come up with a good route.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

I disagree... this game is bloody impossible! :p

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Cool game. Wish it could have been a bit longer, but sometimes that's how game jams go.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Really nice art, is that an original EGA palette? I enjoyed it, but think it'd be more fun without the countdown timer (maybe just a countup timer to determine your score).

Mase says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Cute graphics; it would be nice if Boris wasn't just a blob though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]