December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

AntiHero

by danielcmessias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

AntiHero!

You, the protagonist, are about to storm the castle of the evil villain of the land. You face a sudden development, a strange curse. Moving right in the game, and you play as the Hero, moving left,and you become the Villain. As the hero, your allies will heal you if your nearby, but head left, convert to the villain, and they will instantly attack you, even if you change back.

You have an energy ball attack, so collect energy orbs to use when necessary, however tactical and planned gameplay will serve your better than mindless combat.

Try to reach the end of the castle, where you must face the evil villain himself.

YOU are the villain though, when you move left, I though you said? Oh yes, it's a boss battle where you must fight yourself :)

My first Ludum Dare, I hope you like it, sorry for any bugs, I tried to do the best I could in the time I had, enjoy!

Game Info

Written in Java, using Libgdx, so should run fine on Windows/Mac/Linux. I tried to get it working as an applet, but it just wouldn't work, sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Theme3.65
#248Audio2.77
#301Innovation3.00
#380Graphics2.91
#456Humor2.25
#495Mood2.55
#555Overall2.65
#584Fun2.33
#776Coolness45%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Good Job :) and nice time lapse too.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16pm

It's good but the limited shots really ruined it for me.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:19pm

I think this concept is great. I found the gameplay a little difficult, and the level design needed a little work, but for the time, it was fun. You could take this and do something awesome as far as the mechanic goes. Great idea.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Really cool idea. Jumping is glitchy.

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

The concept is alright, but it was difficult to maneuver around the castle (glitchy jumping, unreasonably large hitboxes). The limited energy took away from the game in my opinion; there weren't many energy pickups immediately after killing the first few enemies. I also accidentally pressed a button that seemed to give me infinite health. Aside from that, good work. :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:34am

Jumping was too hard, and too little energy, I would like either more enegry or a level designed so it is possible to move through without getting hit, so you can stealth.

But graphics are nice!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:59pm

This game is the Theme!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Limited shots were rough.... jumping could be tuned a bit...

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:14pm

The music was a little bit random but I liked the concept very much! There were some bugs (you can jump into a wall if you're under the wall) but good job for the first time :-)

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:28pm

I found the jumping impossible and ran out of ammo far too quickly so couldnt progress.. Wondered what the point of heading away was, would the guards be on your side? Where was the moonwalk button?

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:35am

Very interesting concept. Game mechanics could improve. Nice work!

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:55pm

It was a fun game, got stuck at the first turret.Als I found a bug. If you walk off the map you get array out of bounds exception and the game crashes.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]